Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

F’in Friday #01

on January 22, 2016

Well, it certainly seems that the old adage is true…the older you get the quicker life goes.

Today is the fourth Friday in January. January 2016. 20 actual 16. RIDICULOUS.

We are nuts deep in the longest, coldest, skintest, most depressing month of the year. In fact, Monday 19th January was named ‘Blue Monday’, officially the most depressing day of the year- nice!

Spring is an age away, payday is still a distant speck on the horizon but hark…what’s that thud…oh, the credit card bill reminding us of panic purchases and festive excesses. YEY.

So, thanks to all of this you might think that F’in Friday is basically a blog based moan fest but no- in fact I am feeling pretty content with my little lot at the moment.

image

I have much to be grateful for- including my health and so F’in Friday is simply a space for me to document what I am doing health and fitness wise each week, the new things I’m trying, the stuff I’m enjoying and what I’ll be giving a wide berth in future maybe! Here goes…

FATNESS:

We don’t have scales at home. I can’t see the point- I know when I’m eating well and doing the ‘right stuff’ and I know when I’m buying 3 creme eggs for £1 and eating them all in one sitting. When my maternity jeans are snug ( and the little little has celebrated her 3rd birthday) I appreciate that steps need to be taken! So, in the interests of research this week I used one of those weighing machines in Boots…I hadn’t anticipated that it would announce to the whole shop that I was weighing myself but still- we have to start somewhere and that was it. I’m not quite sure what I was expecting but it sure as hell wasn’t that I am 1/3 fat. WHAT?! 33.2% of me is basically lard…my body fat is almost in the POOR category…That has got to be a mistake I thought so I stomped up to Tesco and did exactly the same thing (get a second opinion and all that!) Tesco felt only slightly differently- 28.7% fat- still falling outside of the ‘normal’ range…

The plan is to weigh in weekly and hopefully see these figures move somewhere closer to the GOOD range.

FITNESS:

A fab week on this score- My friends and I completed the Liverpool Winter Run on Sunday and it was a really great experience. Yes it was Baltic- we drove through sleet and snow on the way but starting and finishing in the Echo was a stroke of genius and I would definitely be up for doing it again. I like to have a little run out. It is good for my head, a brilliant stress reliever and I have come to really enjoy it and I never thought that would happen!

 

I finished in 1hr 2mins so there is some room for improvement there too. My aim is to get around 50 mins by the end of the year.

20160117_103857

I have also sweated it out at Commando this week- an outdoor circuit training class run by an ex-marine. It is brilliant-Tough but once you’re able to walk again you feel pretty good- promise!

I am really chuffed that this week also saw a little running group start in Heswall- It was a trial for a new location for  Rachel’s Mums to Marathons and is literally open to anyone who fancies taking up running. I know that there are people rolling their eyes, saying they couldn’t do it but I am telling you now- barring serious injury or actual medical advice- you can. Give it a go and tell me you don’t get a buzz from getting further than you thought you could.

FOOD: 

I am a massive fan of smoothies and juices and I have these 2 most days- I love them;

Ginger Zinger

  • Juice of a 2cm chunk of ginger
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • Teaspoon of honey to taste.

Put all the juice into a cup and top up with boiling water- add honey to taste. If you are an organised type you can do this in bulk and freeze into icecubes and then simply make up like a cuppa each morning. Lush!

Green Goddess

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 2 handfuls of spinich
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 an avocado

Juice the cucumber, celery and spinach, add the lime juice and then blend in the avocado. Yummy! (honestly)

FASHION: 

I would love to be a Sweaty Betty aficionado, I love Super Dry, Adidas and all the others but realistically at the moment I am buying my sweats in Sainsbos. A solo trip to the supermarket is basically akin to a spa treatment when you’re a parent!!

Last week I spotted this beauty and the slogan is something I absolutely believe in.

Sainsburys body achieves top

No midriff showing whilst mid plank here! 

It’s open at the back but the tie at the bottom keeps in in place and with a long sleeved top underneath I think it looks really fab- even if I do say so myself!

FAD:

I am calling this a ‘fad’ because so many people think that it is. I don’t and hopefully my results in the coming weeks will show why I am a convert and distributor of the IT WORKS products. Their most well known products are “those crazy wraps”, they have been great for my wobbly mum tum but I took some time off over Christmas and definitely  need to get back into my ‘wrap routine’ and for various reasons that hasn’t happened…yet. I am taking the HSN and Greens daily though and do feel way more energetic and my hair and nails seem to be growing with gusto at the moment.

HSN

 

 

The products are fairly new to the UK but I am slowly building up my team and letting more people know about the products so if you’re interested in finding out more feel free to contact me, I’ll be happy to answer any questions.

So, that’s my first F’in Friday.

I would love to know what you’d suggest in terms of diet, exercise and things you do to help you feel your best.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Muma.

XxxX

 

love-your-body-and-be-healthy

 

6 responses to “F’in Friday #01

  1. You look fantastic Tanya. I’ve been on Slimming World for a while but just slipping a bit lately. Need a boot in the behind – just been so busy (excuses, excuses) that I crave stodgy food. Need to get back on track!
    xxx

  2. Karen Hannah says:

    I can’t believe your body is a third fat. You know how to fix that? STEP AWAY FROM THE SCALES 😉 I love your enthusiasm and determination though and I’m sure you’ll reach your target sooner than you think x

    • Mumaleary says:

      I’m not that bothered about the actual ‘weight’- it is more the fear about the internal fat that might be doing me some damage…I’d love to get one of the full body checks but they’re not available due to random whims on the NHS and to go privately is insanely expensive. Thanks so much for your kind words- watch out for the day I reach my 10km target…you’ll here the whoops from here! xx

  3. Brilliant name for a blog post! I love your motivation – next week will be the start of my fitness campaign. For now though, you have just reminded me that there are 3 bloody Creme Eggs in the cupboard shouting to me!

  4. Mumaleary says:

    Thanks Helen. I realised that just getting out and being even a little bit active was such a help to me. Getting some distance from the day is sometimes all you need but the endorphin boost certainly helps! Creme Eggs…they are pure heaven…sorry!!

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

