Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

You don’t have to say you love me.

on April 10, 2015

Today, thus far has been one of those everything goes your way type gigs.

I woke up early, had cuddles and a leisurely breakfast with my babies before taking them to nursery and waving them off for the weekend; they are having a 2 night sleep over at Grandma’s and are very excited (as is she!)

As we got dressed and chatted they were so absolutely delicious it was hard to think that I could ever love them more.

It was a far cry from the post disney on ice meltdown and it felt so magical I wanted to bottle it.

Now, I am not sure if the two things are linked  but, a couple of weeks ago I asked the big little if she wanted to know a secret. When she said yes I whispered to her that I loved her.

She sighed and said; ‘muma, you just say that too much’. Wow, what a slap in the face!

I took it onboard though and have consciously tried to say it less and demonstrate it more through actions, after all, what does love mean to a toddler anyway?!

Turns out it means water painting on the patio, leaving your laptop and phone in the office, saying yes to ‘just one more’ story, playing pretend and really,  really connecting, listening and being in the moment with them.

And then, if you’re lucky, you get the squeeze you hard cuddles, the one more kiss ‘nightnights’, the ‘Muma you’re beautiful’ compliments and the whispered ‘I love you’s’ that make your heart stop and the breath catch in your throat because it is so serious and sincere. And, you don’t have to say I love you quite so much because you’re demonstrating it and the rewards, I have got to tell you are absolutely priceless.

A spot of cooking!  Lovely Stuff.

A spot of cooking!
Lovely Stuff.

Thanks for the pep talk big little.

I love you and your sister; until the seas run dry.

Muma.

XxxX

6 responses to “You don’t have to say you love me.

  1. Oh I felt that – ok point taken! I have already had to impose a phone ban on myself between arriving home from work and bedtime. It isn’t even that hard once I get over the severe withdrawal. You’re right though – saying you love someone is easy – actually showing it is more difficult.

  2. helena6383 says:

    Love this post. Very beautiful and very true.
    (Found via britmums best post of the week).

  3. Mrs B says:

    This is lovely, really made me quite emotional! The part about connecting and really being in the moment with your children is so poignant and important in developing our bond with our children. The Madam can’t form sentences just yet, but I can’t wait until she does and can comprehend all of this and tell me she loves me! You’re very lucky!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Bx

  4. suzanne3childrenandit says:

    Oh this is lovely and really made me think. I say this a lot to mine too, partly because my parents NEVER said it to me! But looking back, I don’t think it mattered because I just knew that they loved me. They showed it in so many ways and demonstrated it through other words too. How lovely that your girlie shared this with you. You sound like an awesome muma! x x

  5. Mumaleary says:

    Thanks Suzanne. Really kind of you to comment. As my mum says; talk is cheap so the demonstration is so important. Not sure about awesome but we’re all trying our best aren’t we! x

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

