Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

So, we still have to do this do we??

on March 8, 2015

Apologies for the negative opener but I can’t be the only person to find it hugely frustrating that we still have to have days like this; International Womans Day. Conversations about equality and why women and men are basically the same but not- and why should they be?!

I wrote about my annoyance on International Day of the Girl last year but; being a woman and, as a mum to two gorgeous girls regularly blogging about the woes and wonders of motherhood and the dance of the working mum I felt that it would be remiss of me to let the day pass without adding my tupence worth.

I’ve written before about the fact that I hate that we still need days like this, the fact that women and girls fall so far behind the men and boys in relation to wages, education and life chances. Will we ever live in a world where we can take it as read that people are just people?? Unlikely but I think we’re moving forward, slowly.

(on that note, this is a brilliant post from Mr L’s fave, arseblog)

A part of me wonders if I’ve got anything to add to this but, the other part says; that’s why International Womans Day exisits; to remind people that every woman, everyone, has a voice and everyone has a right to make it heard so…here goes.

If you like it and you chose it, wear it. To Hell with anyone else.

I recently had what I shall tactfully describe as a heated debate, about girls that get sexually assaulted having to take responsibility for the way they dress and the way they behave. This makes me want to weep and scream in equal measure. It adds insult to injury that the discussion was with another woman…

I am absolutely the first to admit that I have seen my fair share of outfits that are a little bit out there, outfits that leave little to the imagination and outfits that are just plain weird. Hell, I’ve worn plenty of them myself.

I read status updates from women that have just run a marathon, lamenting the fact that their face looks a little flushed and their thighs could be skinnier. We have got to stop this.

Where ever you are, whoever you are you have the right to wear what you want and look however you like. It is for no one else to judge and it is certainly not for anyone to take the way you look as a sign that they understand the inner workings of your brain.

Whether you choose a bikini or a birka. Wear it, own it and never apologise for it.

Knowledge is Power. Don’t take it for granted.

I adore the fact that your minds are so enquiring. Never, never, never lose that. I love the fact that you love to read and question and learn. As you grow up, you’ll ask questions that daddy and I can’t answer but, there will be an answer somewhere and, we have access to so many resources that you can find them. Don’t take these resources for granted. Not all boys and girls have access to them.

Your opinion is as valid as anyone else’s.

So, as you grow and question and enquire you will form your own opinions.

They are valid. Don’t let someone silence you because they think their view of the world is more important than yours. It isn’t. Debate is healthy but for goodness sake, make it informed. I’ve learnt from experience that clambering down from a high horse feels pretty excruciating!

The only thing a boy can do that you can’t is wee standing up.

There is no such thing as toys for boys, jobs for boys or colours for boys or hobbies for boys. If you want to do it, Do it. If you hate it, what have you lost? Don’t ever stop yourself from having a go because you don’t have a winky.

The long and short of it? It’s all here; advice for life whoever you are.

Muma.

XxxX

good women

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

