Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Home is where the Heart is; Happy St David’s Day.

on March 1, 2015

Where are you from? What nationality are you? Are they easy questions for you?
They’re not so easy for me, the actual truth doesn’t tell the story of how I feel.

I suppose, if we’re using the crudest measures, in a survey, I’d have to tick the English box.
I live in England and I was born here too.

Don’t misunderstand me, I’ve got nothing, nothing against England. Some of my best friends are English!! I just don’t feel English myself. British yes, but English, no, that doesn’t feel like me.
The National Anthem means nothing to me- I like Queen Liz and all that, she’s done a sterling job, and I loved the James Bond thing at the Olympics but, my heart and my heritage lie elsewhere.

If we’re talking emotions, it’s a no brainer. I’m Welsh through and through.
I don’t live there, I can’t speak the lingo properly and in terms of the politics I couldn’t tell you what’s going down the old general assembly but;
When I hear Bread of Heaven I well up.
When I picture my childhood home I’m don’t picture the house I went to school from or had friends to play at. I picture our own precious little corner of Wales where the sun always shone (even when it didn’t) and life felt pretty damn sweet.

IMG_4950IMG_4952
When  I watch the rugby (though my knowledge and understanding of the game is sketchy at best) I only want one team to win.

wales team
In my heart, I’m Welsh.

I know I can’t expect my children to share this feeling. Perhaps they will feel distinctly English like their daddy, perhaps they’ll feel like a blend of us both or perhaps as they grow up they’ll associate  themselves with traditions that aren’t so linked with place. I don’t know.

What I do know is, if my babies feel as warm and comforted by their history and heritage as I do then we’ll have done something right.

Happy St Davids Day Everyone, whatever you do, wherever you’re from and wherever you’re spending your day, have a good one.

Muma.

XxxX

to be born welsh

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

