Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Still on the band wagon??

on January 16, 2015

Evening All.

Happy January! How are you getting on with your New Years Resolutions?!
Still on the wagon?
Well done if you are by the way- by this time next week over 80% of us will have gibbed off our good intentions and come New Years Eve 2015 only 8% of us will have any rights to wear the (hopefully slightly loser) smug pants.
That’s a pretty high failure rate!!

So far I’ve been feeling pretty motivated, few bumps and bruises from falling off the wagon and filling my face with cake at the little littles birthday party- yep, totally made my own cake (just call me supermom!) but I am trying.

Before you ask, no, I am not morbidly obese. I am usually able to get an outfit that looks alright (with the support of some spanx) for a special occasion but for me it’s more about the inside story if you know what I mean. I’m want to give myself the best chance of living a long and healthy life.

This year I am turning 35- biblically speaking that is middle age dudes and, since my daddy passed away totally unexpectedly from a heart attack aged 37 I don’t think that there’s a better time for me to get my health and wellbeing in check. I don’t want to leave my babies with the same emotional weirdness that I have; I’d far rather stick around for the ‘Goooooood Mum, You are sooooooo embarrassing’ statements.
Someone remind me of this when I’m lamenting the teenage phase! It’s no more than I deserve- I was a hideous teen.

So, as of yesterday I am all about the Fresh Start Health 12 week programme; Fit n Slim.
It is early days- yesterday was the initial weigh in but, I am feeling positive so far.
There’s 8 of us in the group all taking part with our own motivations and goals so I am hoping that we’ll be able to support each other when times get tough.

The programme is totally holistic. There is a fitness programme (a running session and a circuit class each week) as well as an hour each week discussing all of the other stuff that goes with the way we feel about our bodies.
I have never heard of a class that deals with the whole person and I like it. At £195 for the 12 weeks you’re going to want to see some results but I think that if we all follow the advise and suggested meal plans we should do…

So far the message is rather than denying yourself the things you like try to add in more things that you know to be good for you so, this week I have been adding in loads of water and veg. I am usually dreadful at veg…brilliant at chocolate, dreadful at veg!

There have been one or two awkward points so far; namely being waved at and called by name when I parked up outside the chippy; ‘Usual Tanya?’ To be fair, it was the only free space and the gym is on the same road.
The second is obviously tena lady and botty burp related! Week two will be all about the pelvic floor I hope! 😉

Watch this space for my progress dudes.

Have you made any New Years Resolutions? My news feed is rammed with health and fitness so I’m guessing I’m not the only one- how are you doing so far?

Happy Weekend Lovelies.

Muma.

XxxxX

One response to “Still on the band wagon??

  1. […] I’ve exercised more consistently (thanks to the quite brilliant Jon and Melissa and their Fit ‘n’ Trim programme) and am generally trying to make better food, drink and lifestyle decisions. Obviously it […]

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

