Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

This is 40…Oh God, is it??!

on September 3, 2014

Last night I watched This is 40.

It is described on IMDB as a comedy. 

Let me tell you, it is not a comedy. It is a horror. It is basically The Hills Have Eyes for parents.

BITE ME!

BITE ME!

I am scared, and scarred!

If you are 40, anywhere near 40 or perhaps thinking of starting a family at any point in the future please do not watch this.

It depicts a couple constantly at each others throats who very occasionally remember that once upon a time they had a different life and they were happier.

GREAT! Thanks for that.

Does it all work out brilliantly in the end; um, not so much. The guy gets knocked off his bike and breaks a rib, the gal gets unexpectedly pregnant and is far from thrilled about it.

YEY- Real feel good film.

AGAIN;  BITE ME.

AGAIN;
BITE ME.

 

Obviously, it is possible that I am a little hyper sensitive about this whole thing at the moment. My exciting work contract has come to an end and, on opening an email about mortgage rates and all that jazz the dreadful realization finally dawned;

My CV is like a dot the dot, I have yet to make anything of myself AT ALL and, out of sheer desperation this morning I entered the Lorraine win £60,000 competition!! It’s a slippery slope people.

So, I was lamenting my predicament to someone who shall remain nameless. Their advice;

Grow up, Suck it up and get a job that you hate like the rest of the population. 

Marvelous and life affirming advice.

I’m off to play join the dots, I mean work on my CV.

Let me know if you can think of any awesome jobs that fit a dysfunctional, neurotic and slightly mental 30 something…I’m sure offers will come flooding in…

Muma.

XxxX

PS- If you have come out the other side of the madness please let me know and prevent me from shooting myself in the face. Thanks very much!!

PPS- Please don’t get out the worlds smallest violin, I know that I am actually very, very lucky but sometimes everyone just needs a moan.

PPPS- I’m linking this post up with Vicky’s #BrilliantBlog linky.
Check out who else has linked up, there’s some really good stuff there!

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

10 responses to “This is 40…Oh God, is it??!

  1. It terrified me too. We watched it several months ago and a) nearly decided to get a divorce just because we couldn’t take getting to that stage and b) I cried because I am a crashing great failure. Boo to that. Only 4 years to go until my 40th birthday 😦

  2. Mummy Tries says:

    I loved this film, but then again I’m a sucker for Paul Rudd. Hope these feelings pass quickly… lots of my friends haved turned 40 recently and the assure me it’s not that bad #brilliantblogposts

  3. You are making me want to watch it just for laughs. I turn 40 this year and I am not taking it well – where did this decade go? xx

  4. I am going to be 40 next year and sad to say we are like now. Yep my life is like a horror movie =P #brillblogpost

  5. Honest Mum says:

    Not seen this but really want, I’m 33 but honestly can’t wait to reach 40, I look at Jennifer Anniston and think damn, 70 is the new 40! You will love it! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

  6. Mama Owl says:

    I thought that movie was brilliant, so funny, but I know exactly what you mean!

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

