Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

What do you get when you put 45 Women in a Bar…

on July 11, 2014

Thank Crunchie it’s Friday!!!

Good morning my dears. Today, I would like to be lounging around in bed sipping tea, glancing at Homes Under the Hammer and, around 10.30 padding down to the kitchen to make some breakfast and assess what to do with the rest of the day.

I can confirm right now that this is not how the day is panning out.

The girls are chatting next door (obviously the next door room- not actual next door, that would be weird) and, today and for the remainder of the weekend I will be rushing about like a blue bottomed fly trying to make our house presentable for The Golf Open because, in our infinite wisdom Mr L and I decided that it would be no big deal for us to basically pack up the entire contents of our home, take down two cots, put up one double bed, empty all our wardrobes and get trigger happy with the dusters and bleach whilst looking after two kids, working and trying to cram in everything else besides.
Good decision team Leary…

Packing whilst children play around you is all well and good until you nearly stow them in the loft, sandwiched between the Winter clothes in a vacuum packed bag. Seeing their little faces squashed against the plastic window as you lift the bag into the loft does not win a parent of the year award- chill out, I’ve embellished for comedic effect.

Amongst all of this, I decided last night would be a perfect opportunity to host my first Non Networking Event- no, it doesn’t have a better title than that- all suggestions welcome.

The idea was borne out of speaking to so many brilliant women at baby groups, on the nursery run and hearing so many of them say the same things;

I need to go back to work but I can’t do the same hours.
I don’t want to go back to work but I need to earn and I’m not sure what to do.
I want to do X but I’m not sure where to start.

The plan was to give local women the opportunity to chat about their businesses whatever stage they were at. To offer advice, support and suggestions and basically encourage them to believe that, if they want to make a change, they can. With wine!

So, last night, around 45 women got together in Ottos, Heswall, shared their ideas, swapped business cards and info and generally made the acquaintance of other women in the same boat as them.
Turns out, it is a pretty massive boat!

There was PR and HR and beauty and juicy and cookies and crafties and pamper and practical and everything else in between.
There were experienced business brains and tiny seeds of ideas and everyone mixed and talked and learned something from everyone else. It was a really positive evening. 🙂 Thank you all so much for coming.

Reading through the feedback forms this morning I am absolutely chuffed at the comments. I think my favourite has to be;
Interesting, Informative and Inspiring.
You’re right- I thought so too!

Right then, once I’ve got the kids out the loft, emptied the house, made up the beds, bleached the bathroom and taken the broom out of my bum, I’ll crack on with the next one hey… Who’s in?!

Happy Friday Everyone.

Loads of Love,

Muma.

XxxX

20140711-080323-29003926.jpg

20140711-080323-29003597.jpg

20140711-080323-29003450.jpg

20140711-080323-29003807.jpg

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

