Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Glasto Baby!!! (actually an amazing #WinningWednesday)

on June 28, 2014

As I type this, Arcade Fire are going mental at Glasto and my awesome friends, The Mix Nots, have just finished a 7 hour DJ set. Oh what I would give to be hanging in a sweaty tent at Glastonbury this weekend with a mouth like Gandi’s flip flop.
Alas, here I am, home alone writing about my former life a festival goer. Sad times!

Well, no more. I will not go gently into this good night…I WILL seek out a festival that is suitable for families, kids, people who don’t want to utterly give up on life because they’ve spawned children.

And, my friends, I have struck festival gold…I am not talking Bestival…too obvious- plus it totally clashes with work, that is The Festival of Code Weekend lovelies, YRS’s biggest gig of the year.

LOLLIBOP is exactly where is it at for Family Leary this year and I am so excited.
I am even more excited that I have a family ticket to give away to one of you lucky people.

 

Lolibop 2014

 

Lolibop 2014 is taking over the gorgeous Hatfield House which is under 30 minutes away from London, just an hour from Cambridge and Reading and less than 90 minutes from Leicester- it is pretty convenient for most of us really and, if it is just that bit too far for a day trip, you could make a weekend of it; in case it has escaped your attention, there is a bit of a passport situation at the minute so this summer is THE perfect time for a Staycation! One day in the city and one in the country? Sounds pretty good to me.

Hatfield House lOLLIBOP 2014

Looking serene before the littlies descend!

So, just what is Lolibop all about?

Lolibop is ALL ABOUT THE KIDS– it’s not an adult festival with a bouncy castle ’round the back, calling itself family friendly! It is totally designed with anyone and everyone under 10 in mind but, with all the necessary touches to prevent you from one of those awkward Mummy Meltdowns when the toilets are inadequate and no one will warm your bottle!

Divided into various zones to keep everyone happy, I have already checked the line up and earmarked a few ‘must do’s for Family Leary;

  • Lets make a story with Southbank Centre regular story teller Vanessa Woolf! As you know, I the girls love a good story.
  • Baby Yoga- surely I can’t show myself up in a field of toddlers…can I?!
  • Disney’s Silent Disco- AMAZING!! Who doesn’t love a head bang to ‘A whole New World’…Not the Jordan and Peter version!
  • The Thomas and Friends area- I really enjoy Thomas the Tank so it will be brilliant to see the engines ‘in person’ so to speak- I can’t wait to see the girls faces!
  • The Lollikitchen- The girls love getting their hands dirty with a bit of cooking so this will be right up their street- they could do with someone who knows what they’re talking about showing they the ropes!

The eagle eyed amongst you will recognise that none of these activities are the ‘Big Names’, I think, as with most festivals, it will be worth checking out the full programme and seeking out the hidden gems.

For older kids there is absolutely loads to do- you are utterly spolit for choice with football sessions, science shows, DJ sets and street dance, it sounds awesome frankly and I am a little bit gutted that my girls are too young for this session at the moment…it would be way too obvious that I was simply there to check out Mr G!

bear grylls, lollibop 2014

If you are more of a Pyramid Stage person, you can look forward to the likes of Sam and Mark, Mr Maker, Mr Tumble and so on but I reckon, with two under 3’s, we’ll save that for next year and enjoy the side shows this time round.

Mr Tumble Lollibop 2014

mister maker, lollibop 2014

If you fancy winning a family ticket to Lollibop, all you need to do is hit the link and enter my fab competition.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

See you there- we can’t wait.

Muma.

XxxX

If you aren’t lucky enough to win- you can still get in on the action; check out the ticket section of the website here.

42 responses to “Glasto Baby!!! (actually an amazing #WinningWednesday)

  1. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs says:

    Wow an amazing competition thank you 🙂 my little ones would be happy seeing anything. It would all be exciting for them as we have never been before. Andy Days Live Show looks fun and we all adore Justin Fletcher – Fingers, toes and everything crossed x

  2. Kelly says:

    Sounds like great fun. Is it sad that I am excited about justin?

  3. Sandra Lane says:

    If Lazytown is at Lollibop my daughter would be in raptures. She loves Sporticus (so do I!!)

  4. My son especially will love all of it especially Justin Fletcher

  5. Samantha J says:

    Side shows for us please

  6. aww I haven’t entered as it is too far away for Hubster as it is a busy time of year but it does look amazing and I’m glad you can still channel the festival goddess in you. Have a fab time 🙂

  7. Jenny says:

    Sounds absolutely amazing hun. WOW, wish we lived closer. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

  8. Kellie Faggle McIntyre says:

    WE would love to see the fab Mr tumble!

  9. maggie ali says:

    we’d love to see everything but mainly Justin and Mr Maker 🙂 have never been to LOLLIBOP before so it would be a great experience for my kiddies and me 😉

  10. nicola brittain says:

    We went last year at Olympic Park… it was a fab day out !!

  11. My daughter would love to see justin, he always gets her laughing.

  12. Suz says:

    Thanks for heads up on Lollibop- never heard of it before. Will definitely investigate. We had great fun at Camp Bestival a couple of summers ago with Mr Tumble and Bear Grylls survival academy sounds fab 🙂

    • Mumaleary says:

      It all sounds really excellent and well planned to cater perfectly for families and little ones. Can’t wait to get there and report back. Good luck!

  13. Kelly Dutton says:

    My little girl would want to go and see Lazy town

  14. Jamie Denin says:

    Ah! So excited! Most of the cbeebies crew will be there! It is possible I am more excited than the children at the possibility of going to lollibop!

  15. Kerry Locke says:

    Lollibop is an amazing ‘First Time’ Festival Experience for kids … My two are looking forward to seeing Justin … We are HUGE Mr Tumble fans and it would be fab to go and see him perform live

  16. Wow, fantastic competition. Sounds great.

  17. jessica Catherine says:

    would love to see lazytown

  18. […] if you’re suffering from Mummy Guilt, enter my Lollibop competition to win a fab family day out at the kids […]

  19. Andy Kadir-Buxton says:

    My eldest son would love to see the coaching from Tottenham Hotspur, my youngest would like to see his hero Justin in the flesh.

  20. Angela says:

    My youngest loves Thomas the Tank Engine so would like to spend time with them also the Southbank sounds like lots of fun

  21. Ian Watson says:

    Our two boys would love to see Justin Fletcher!

  22. Laura Theobald says:

    Wow. My kids would love this. Justin & Mr.Bloom!!!
    I may be 31, but I would love it too!
    There is stuff for all ages, looks amazing, I have 5 kids, all who would love to go. But it would be soooo pricey. If I am lucky enough to win, I would only have to buy a couple of tickets, much more within buget. I have my fingers crossed xxxx

  23. Viv Gilbey says:

    We’d be watching Justin or ‘Tumble’ as my daughter calls him!

  24. H Bailey says:

    I have a little boy who’s Thomas mad (aren’t they all??!) so I think that would take up much of our time there.

  25. Natalie says:

    My lo’s will love most of what Lolibop has to offer but definite visits to see Thomas and friends and the stage would be on our list to do! x

  26. kibbler86 says:

    My son would really love to see Thomas and Friends. This is such a fab giveaway, I would try and do a bit of everything if we were lucky 🙂 x

  27. michelle banks says:

    has to be justin fletcher x fingers crossed x

  28. Caroline Kelly says:

    It’s gotta be Justin Fletcher 🙂

  29. Natalie Crossan says:

    We’d be going for (say it with me…) Mr Tuuuuuumble! 🙂
    We’re all about the main stage 😀

  30. Faye Rose says:

    It looks amazing!
    Fantastic competition ….. keeping EVERYTHING crossed 🙂
    Xxx

  31. […] were ambassadors for Lollibop last year and loved it so can’t wait to see what the Family Festival of the North has got to […]

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

