Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Boxsets, Britpop & looking Blurgh and #Lovethelittlethings

on April 11, 2014

It’s Friday, It’s Friday, It’s Friday!! I hope that you’ve all had a hunky dory week and are licking your lips with anticipation for the weekend- What are your plans? We have a Pirate Party for the amazing Archie tomorrow and the small matter of the FA Cup semi final where Mr L will be rooting for The Gunners…fingers crossed they beat Wigan tomorrow. Either way, there will be cake and beer!

Now, you all know the score with this one, unless you’re a newbie (in which case Welcome!) This is my run down of the week in topic form thanks to the lovely linky from Morgana at But Why Mummy Why. Hold on to your hats, here goes…

Happy Friday image

Read: I bought myself a book this week. Ha, why?! I have no idea when I plan on reading it but the blurb on the back caught my eye so I thought I’d give it a try. Needless to say that since I got it home it’s been sitting on the bedside table untouched but I absolutely plan on starting on it this week-end. I think a long, hot, deep bath is called for…

I’ll report back next week. just-what-kind-of-mother-are-you1

Watched: This week it has been all about Breaking Bad. ALL ABOUT IT. If you haven’t watched this, I’m not interested in your half hearted excuses, you need to head over to Netflicks (other mediums are available) and get it downloaded. It is, quite frankly, THE very best thing I have ever seen. EVER. DO IT. Tonight we will be starting the final season and, whilst I can not wait to see how it all pans out, I have no clue what will fill our evenings once it’s done. Any suggestions?

Breaking Bad

Phil Mitchell just looks amateur in comparison.

Heard: Britpop is 20 years old. 20 YEARS OLD. We are officially getting old. It doesn’t seem like it was 20 years since I bought my Definitely Maybe album in HMV Liverpool. This is the soundtrack to my youth. It reminds me of GCSE’s, of study leave and long hot Summers. What a brilliant time. 6 Music have been revisiting the best albums of the time and I have absolutely loved the trip down memory lane- what was your favourite album of the time?

Whilst checking some facts out for this post I checked out top-selling songs of 1994 and, whilst we are obviously banging on about the brilliance of Britpop, there was absolutely LOADS of amazing tunes in there; check this list out and try not to hum along!!

Worn: Oh good lord. I literally have nothing of interest to write here. Urgh. As I type I am sitting in my (super comfortable) Super Dry trakkies and a maternity top…Nope, I don’t have any news in that department, turns out I am just a slob. Again; URGH. I am working from home, I’m not expecting to see anyone but still, I think I at least need to pretend to have limits…self confidence and clothing

Made: **drum roll please** This week I have made a full on Sunday Roast. And, it was pretty darn tasty even if I do say so myself! Yes the timing was a little hit and miss and, yes, I did drop the bottle of browning in the gravy which basically made it look like tar but Rome wasn’t built in a day people…I’m learning!
And another thing: Wow- just realised that this is a total All about me post- just to confirm; my babies haven’t left home…they are still here and fine and dandy (plus, I did a gushy post yesterday so don’t want to go ott with it) I am just utterly self-absorbed it seems! Sorry I’m not sorry!
Have a glorious weekend peeps.
Muma.
XxxX

 

17 responses to “Boxsets, Britpop & looking Blurgh and #Lovethelittlethings

  1. Oh lord I used to be obsessed with Blur, like majorly. That makes me feel OLD. Really have to start on breaking bad, no more delaying!! Xxx

  2. Jenny says:

    ahhhh Muma I love this!!!!! You have every right to talk all about you in one post. That’s the beauty of your own blog. hahaha And it’s great to get to know more about you and what you are up to too. Way to go on the Sunday roast. My husband is devastated that I am American and Sundays are using a no cook fast food night. We used to do big Sunday breakfast as a family instead. Funny in the different cultures. I have yet to make one. Just might have to one day, oh dear. Way to go you though! Come teach me. hahaha #littleloves

  3. Mummy Hearts You says:

    Hahaha! I love this, really made me chuckle! I am one of those people that are yet to jump on the Breaking Bad band wagon! I think when we are moved and settled we we get Netflix and watch it then!

  4. lifeatthelittlewood says:

    I love it. I love it ALL! Major kudos to you for making a Sunday Roast – if I knew how to do it I’d give you Kred and Klout and all those other things beginning with a K! 😉 I wouldn’t honestly know where to start! I’m with you on the comfy clothes thing too – I take it a step further though and just stay in my pj’s. And then hide if anyone calls at the door 🙂 Have a great weekend Muma! Xx

  5. Not A Frumpy Mum says:

    Haha, I’m sat here in my trackies and old hoody! Really need to ge changed, I’m meeting a friend for lunch in half an hour.

    I used go love Blur too, and I’ve heard Parklife on the radio twice this week, can’t resist a sing along!

    • Mumaleary says:

      My girls looked a little shocked to see me bouncing around to all the 90’s classics this week too but the big little did say ‘this is good’ to Pulps Common People!!

  6. Oh god, this bought back memories: britpop!! & good lord, if i ever needed anymore motivation to get into a tv series-this was it!!! Have a great weekend xx

  7. MissMelvis says:

    Hearing that Britpop is 20 years old makes me feel REALLY old! :O

    We’re all done with Breaking Bad now (thanks to Netflix!), it’s literally the best thing I’ve EVER seen on TV!!

  8. Full Sunday Roast? Hats off! Ive been planning on doing that but not successful =P

  9. Ah Blur! Love. So many good memories!
    We started Breaking Bad and loved it but our free trail ran out at season 3 – the mister is too tight to pay for it because we are “watching so much already on Sky” *weeps* We will finish it one day! xx

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

