Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

For my Muma on Mothers Day

on March 30, 2014

Morning All!

Happy Sunday and, more importantly, Happy Mothering Sunday! I hope that, if you are a mum, you are reading this whilst lazing in bed with the kids and a tray of tea and toast.tea and toast in bed

Whilst you’re reading this I am likely to be in one of three places;

1) The bathroom with my head in the toilet- I was out with the girls last night- YEY!

2) The kitchen- breakfast in bed all sounds very nice but crumbs in the bed are hideous and, with two under 3 spillages are very likely. We’ve already had a sudocreme incident this week so I don’t want to tempt fate.

3) At the swimming pool- watching my gorgeous girls jumping and splashing and giggling and making my whole heart want to bounce out of my chest because I just love them. (admittedly, the whole aftermath of swimming shenanigans is a ball ache. No one likes the shivering, showering, starving situation but hopefully that will be short lived and we can look forward to them both having a good sleep afterwards…might even buy a paper!!)

Mothers Day is a tough, emotional day for lots of people, as Fathers Day is for my family so, if you’re Mum isn’t with you in person today, try to remember that she is with you in spirit and in your heart. In your treasured memories and in the lessons she taught you. And, know that you are being thought of and loved. Not the same I know but you’re not on your own.

Last Fathers Day I wrote a post about my dad. I mentioned that it is easy to place people on a pedestal when they pass away and, thinking about how hard it must have been for my mum in the aftermath of my dads death makes me feel so dreadfully sad. But, I don’t want to wait until it is too late to tell my mum how I feel about her. I think that is one of the saddest things about funerals- people might pass away never knowing how loved they were and, as they say in My Best Friends Wedding, If you love someone, tell them and so, here goes.

For My Mum. 

I don’t know how to start this as it doesn’t really feel like a poem. It’s more like a massive heartfelt THANK YOU to my amazing, infuriating, proud, loving, lovable, funny, practical, kind, caring, generous, wonderful Mum.

I love you and I couldn’t get by without you.

People say that you never know a mothers love until you are a mother yourself and, now I fall into that category twice over I absolutely concur.

I have so much admiration and respect for my mum and I love her beyond measure.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, she occasionally annoys the hell out of me and we don’t always agree but, the thing is, she is able to tell me things that no one else would dare.

If I get worked up it is usually because she is telling me something that I already know but don’t want to admit or discuss-

How does she even DO that?!

I am so pleased that we have been able to move back ‘Tup North and be closer to my mum and my sister and, I know it gives her so so much pleasure to spend time with her grandchildren and they adore her too.

I love hearing them talking to each other as I am beavering away in my office and I know that if Mr L or I can’t be there that mum will know exactly what to do.

photo (24)

As we were growing up I know my mum felt torn between the need for her to look after her girls and be there for her Dada, our lovely Grandpa as he grew older and needed more support- I can’t imagine how hard that must have been but you have instilled in me a desire to give as much love and care to my family as possible.

I know you don’t like the whole gushy love thing.

I know you prefer a bunch of daffs to a bouquet.

daffoldills

I know that you prefer us to spend time than money.

I know that you will love and support us all for always and I am so so very grateful for all that you do Mum.

Happy Mothers Day.

All our Love, Always.

Your Tiny Tears and her beautiful Babies,

XxxX

Like my mum
So, you know I didn’t get shortlisted for the MAD Awards (sob!) you can help raise my self esteem again by nominating me for one of these bad boys instead (if you like)
NOMINATE ME BiB 2014 LAUGH
NOMINATE ME BiB 2014 FRESH VOICE
NOMINATE ME BiB 2014 WRITER

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

