Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

The Summer is coming, it’s time for a festival!

on March 27, 2014

Ah, this weekend we are Springing forwards towards lighter nights and long summer evenings and this my friends means that Festival season is nearly upon us!! WHOOP WHOOP! I love a good festival, I first went to Reading with Mr L as a present for his 21st birthday (somewhere around 1767). We saw the Fun Loving Criminals (Huey winked at me- no it couldn’t have been another member of the humongous crowd!) and since then I have experienced the bonkers brilliance of V Festival, Cream Fields, Global Gathering and Glastonbury. Festivals are the ultimate excuse to wear neon without apology and act like a care free kid for a weekend. I LOVE THEM.

Oh my word- we are about 10!!

Oh my word- we are about 10!!

Saving myself for Blur

Saving myself for Blur

Crazy Cats!

Crazy Cats!

Now we have two under threes I think Glasto is a little out of our reach, for this year at least. The ticket prices make me weep and with 2 weddings abroad this year it just wasn’t an option.

Happily though, that doesn’t mean we are abandoning the idea all together- oh no, quite the opposite my friends- we are off to Lolibop!

 

Lolibop

 

Oh yes we are! At £17.50 including parking the ticket prices are far more palatable and, as you just got for the day there’s no issue of waking up with a mouth like Gandhi’s flip-flop at 5am as the sun streams through your canvas roof. So far so good!

It sounds amazing! I never ever expected to hear myself say such things but, a day out in the sunshine with the littlies wandering around various activities such as art, yoga, baby ballet and a teddy bears picnic whilst slurping on an ice-cream is right up my street.

 

Obviously, it’s not exactly the same as standing with a cider waiting for The Killers or Trouser Snake himself but…glasto3

Hang on a cotton pickin’ minute…Did you say Animal Man is going to be there? AND Katy Ashworth AND- The Science Museum. Amazing.

Lolibop is now in it’s 4th year and expects this year to be its biggest and best yet with zones and activities selected to suit all everyone up to the age of 10. With a new home- the extremely grand Hatfield House, amazing grounds and on site parking and a train station only 5 minutes walk away, I am mentally packing my bag already with funky shades and the factor 50! Who wants to join us?

Hatfield House

Looking serene before the littlies descend!

Being in Hertfordshire it’s obviously a bit of a trek for us Northerners but you could make a weekend of it- it’s on from Friday 15th through to Sunday 17th August and, there are plenty of places to stay near by, plus other attractions to keep you busy for a whole weekend- call it your staycation perhaps? I am going into full on planning mode shortly! Geek.

One of the main things that attracted me to Lolibop is the fact that, though there will be big name TV characters there, it is not all centered around them. There are reading hubs, theatre performances, dance workshops as well as graffiti classes and nature talks so, it sounds like there really is something for everyone. Oh no, I am genuinely getting quite excited just writing about it!

Anyway, if you fancy it, early bird tickets go on sale tomorrow (28th March) and a full line up of acts and attractions will be announced on the 28th April so check here for more details.

See you there!

I’ll be the cool one in the shades…

Muma.

XxxX

 

33 responses to “The Summer is coming, it’s time for a festival!

  1. Aedin says:

    That looks cool. I also have 2 under 3 and there are some family friendly festivals here in Ireland that we could bring them to but festivals are my clock out of reality time and I’m not ready to give that up just yet so this summer again, the girls will be packed off to grannys while mammy and daddy party-well I say party, I mean dance a little and sleep lots hopefully!
    #pocolo

  2. It really does sound loads of fun! Last year it clashed with the Rewind Festival in Henley which we went to but not sure if we are this year so may give this a try 🙂 Thank you for linking to PoCoLo x

  3. Ooh you are a cool mama! Never been myself….
    x x x

  4. Kim Carberry says:

    That does sound like a lot of fun!! There needs to be more things like this up north 🙂

    • Mumaleary says:

      There does doesn’t there! There’s one called the Just So festival so we might have a look at that but I think that’s aimed at slightly older kids. X

  5. This looks great. I’m not a festival person but I’m sure children enjoy it. My brother and his children live not to far from here so I’ll have to tell them about it in case they’ve not heard of it.

  6. mummytries says:

    I’ve eyed up Lollibop a few times, but have never made it there. Hope you have lots of fun, I’ll be eagerly awaiting your blog post with all the details 😉

  7. ClearlyBex says:

    I am very jealous, I hope to attend Lollibop in the coming years when Leah is old enough to enjoy it. Enjoy!!

  8. bethologies says:

    Looks like a fab festival for the mini’s! Will look forwards to reading a full review on it after its been.

  9. Its been awhile since I saw some live bands play and I miss it. Your pictures are so awesome and I wish I can do this too.

    #pocolo

  10. Lakes Mum says:

    ooh does sound fab

  11. Colette B says:

    I love a good festival – I can’t wait till my kids are old enough to introduce them to music festivals but in the meantime I do think Lollibop looks incredible!

  12. […] Leary of Mum Metamorphosis is looking forward to summer festivals – https://mummetamorphosis.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/the-summer-is-coming-its-time-for-a-festival/ oh yes, summer – I vaguely remember that […]

  13. I’ve never been to a festival, would love to do this with the kids #bloggingmumscarnival

  14. Kate Fever says:

    Wish I was close enough to take mine to Lollibop! Hope you have a great time. #bloggingmumscarnival

    • Mumaleary says:

      We are going to make a weekend of it I think…I need to get planning really. Will keep you posted on how we get on. Are you closer to Cheshire? The Just So Festival is meant to be great. x

  15. We went last year it was amazing 🙂 x #bloggingmumscarnival

  16. Katie Clark says:

    I am ashamed to say that in my almost 30 years, I have never been to a festival! I’m hoping to go to the Just-so festival this august though – it’s a festival for kids with scheduled pillow fights and the like. I think it’s in Cheshire somewhere?! Great post – thanks for sharing with the ‪#‎bloggingmumscarnival‬ *heads off to look into lollibop!*

  17. I have heard about Lollibop before sounds great. We are up north and there is never anything good up here. Hope that changes #bloggingmumscarnival popping over from http://www.mummy2monkeys.co.uk

  18. Tina Baker says:

    I have to admit that I’ve never been to a festival. they seem like a lot of fun. There is nothing like this where I live………… Great post. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  19. Enjoy Lollibop! We went last year and the kids had a blast!

    #bloggingmumscarnival

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

