Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Chic Lit, Cheek and Daylight Robbery; Love the little Things #6

on February 28, 2014

Morning All! So, here we are again, another Friday has rolled around. Unbelievable. We are heading into spring and I am loving the lighter nights and the sight of buds on the trees. On the downside, it’s trickier to con your child into thinking it’s nighttime at 4pm…swings and roundabouts hey!

In case you are new to my blog or, to this linky, let me recap. The lovely Morgana at ‘But Why Mummy Why’ hosts this link up each week where bloggers write about their week in topic form. Clever hey? Bit annoyed I didn’t think of it.Love the Little things butwhymummuwhy

This week has been a bit of a rollercoaster with some serious battles of wills as well as some absolute glimmers of gorgeousness. Without further ado, let me share them with you my dears…Pull up a chair!

Ok then, what have I been reading. For once I can report that I have read an actual, bone fide adults book. Not an intellectual one, not a clever, gritty crime drama either, I fell into the trap of Chic Lit. I am not proud.

What I was looking for was some frothy page turner where you can literally let it wash over you and not feel like you have to really get into the characters mind. What I bought was this;

cecelia ahern, how to fall in love

I finished it but I never really believed in it. I feel really mean being critical and, clearly Cecelia has a good thing going having published lots of best sellers but IT JUST WOULDN’T HAPPEN. It was too far-fetched for me and on occasion I found myself blowing out of my mouth as though doing a horse impression. Not a good look. It is ‘nice’ I suppose but I think if I was to sum it up in one word I’d say ‘Meh’ and that’s not a ringing endorsement is it. It might work better as a film but, given that I’m still cross that they moved PS I love you to New York (why?) I am not sure I’d go and see it!!

Watched– On a more positive note, last weekend Mr L and I went to Madrid. We had an amazing time (aside from the small issue of being robbed- bastards) and I will post a review of the city next week. In the meanwhile though let me whet your appetite by saying this; we went to watch Flamenco!! It was absolutely incredible. Absolutely Incredible. The venue we chose is described in ‘1000 places to see before you die’ as ‘The best flamenco nightclub north of Andalusia’ and, though we’d never seen flamenco before and so couldn’t compare, we were both transfixed. If you ever get the chance, GO. Check this out;

Heard- This week the big little has had some serious tantrums. If she had said the following during any of them I think we would have been in tricky territory…We were playing in the kitchen. The girls were practising their jumping and she fell over. She was shocked and quiet for a minute and when I asked if she was ok she simply said;

‘Kiss my bum Muma’

In the same way that she asks me to kiss her head if she bangs that. I nearly wet myself.

Made– This week I have made inedible chilli. That’s right, I have surpassed my own stupidity by putting mulled wine into chilli. It did not taste good. Do not, under any circumstances do this thinking ‘how bad can it be’. The answer, my friends is BAD. I am gutted as I usually make an excellent chilli which I feel smug about. Disappointing.

And lastly– Being in Madrid for the weekend reminded me how much I wish I could speak another language. Although the flamenco was brilliant, it would have been even better I think if I’d known a little of what they were singing about- I’m guessing bulls or cured meats or wine or something else Spanish but I could be wrong…It would also have been very helpful when reporting the fact that I’d been duped out of over 100 Euros by some women posing as charity workers in the park. Don’t panic, it was incredibly annoying and I felt like a prize dick but, it could have been worse and, how low have you got to be before you willingly look someone in the eyes, strike up a conversation about helping disabled children and then nick all their money. Pretty low I think so I hope they are ok. They’re someones kid too- maybe they’re being missed, maybe they’re not and that’s why they’re robbing people like me…nothing’s black and white is it.

Lots of Love,

Muma.

XxxX

8 responses to “Chic Lit, Cheek and Daylight Robbery; Love the little Things #6

  1. Mummy Hearts You says:

    Madrid sounds lovely! {minus the robbing bit-sorry :(}

    I have to admit I am quite a fan of Cecilia Ahern.. Not read this though so will have to check it out!

  2. Emma Martin says:

    Yikes! Definitely highs and lows this week? The flamenco sounds amazing though, what a fab idea for a little mini-moon! E x

  3. That is exactly how I respond whenever I end up reading bad chick lit, the horse impression and rolling my eyes!
    So jealous that you went to Madrid for the weekend! Sounds like you had a fab time, LOVE Flamenco dancing. Someone bought me castanets as a kid and I remember dancing around with them and stomping my feet! xx

  4. Oh my gosh, noted that chilli and mulled wine do not go. I had a shocker of a week in the kitchen too, but I didn’t get to go to Madrid to see flamenco. Damn it. Jealous now. Would love a little flamenco action…with ham of course. Yum.

  5. wrymummy says:

    I laughed so much at the mulled wine in the chilli! I recently made an inedible curry – it took me ages as was getting more and more drunk (only copying all the best chefs, you understand), then I put in the correct amount of chilli for the recipe. Unfortunately, it was HOT chilli powder, and I can vouch for the fact that there is a significant difference. I am a chilli wuss, so I froze it and gave it to some more resilient mates when they came for dinner a couple of weeks later. I’d have been damned to waste all that effort!x

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

