Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

All about me! (or Mummy Tag)

on February 27, 2014

Now I’m getting a bit more into the whole twitter thing, I have made a few new blogger mates and I was included in Mummy Tag nearly 2 weeks ago- eeek. I was tagged by Sian at Potty Mouthed Mummy- brilliant name for a blog, check her out here…woah, not yet- you need to read this first! 

Before I undo all my good social media work, I need to answer these questions about me… 

It’s a bit like a chain letter which I’d normally avoid like the plague but, because I love an excuse to talk about myself my family, I’m going all in and giving you the whole truth and nothing but…

1. Are you a Stay at Home Mum, or a Working Mum?

I am very luckily working from home part time. I work for a fan-bleedin-tastic cause called Young Rewired State which is all about teaching kids to code. Infact, I am so into it I wrote a post all about it!

2. Would you have it any other way?

Uuummm…I think the only change I would make would be to employ a full-time house keeper. I would like to have a little bell to ring at regular intervals for tea and the gorgeousness which is Aldi chocolate raisins- my new favourite things. (the raisins, not tea, that’s been a fave for some decades) by saying full-time, it looks as though we have someone part-time currently…clearly we don’t which is why I tripped over my own knickers on the stairs this morning and nearly broke my head. Michael Caine as Alfred in Batman

3. Do you co-sleep?

Nope. We do a bit of co-awake! Sleep was never an issue with our big little and we were utterly lulled into a false sense of security. I thought I was the most calm and soothing mother earth, that a chilled muma would result in an uber relaxed baby but, turns out, it was sweet fanny adams to do with me, she just likes to sleep. The little little is more of a do’er so, if she’s awake she ain’t lying in her cot contemplating her naval, she’s wanting to be up and at ’em.

T’rific.

4. What is your one must-have item for your baby?

Uuum…for the big little it’s books all the way. For the little little, it’s stair gates and door locks!

5. How many kids do you plan on having?

I think in the ‘plan’, we’re done…I think…but they are so lovely when they are all teeny weeny and still a little bit scrunched up don’t you think?!

6. Date nights? How many do you have per month?

I have just done a bit of sick in my mouth due to the term date night. We are just getting back into the habit of being in the same county every night after two years of Mr L working away and, we have also just come back from a weekend in Madrid so I reckon we are doing ok. We sit in the same room most evenings and occasionally offer each other a snippet of interesting conversation.  Plus, we like a good film night!

7. Your child’s favourite show?

I honestly don’t know. We watch In the Night Garden after the bath each night but that’s more a routine than because they ever really express a desire to watch it.  My personal fave is Abney and Teal I think, nice, gentle and relaxed and, they enjoy a bit of porridge. Yum.Abney and Teal

8. Name one thing you brought before you had the baby and never ended up using?

A baby bath. My mum bought us a really cute Winnie the Pooh baby bath and we used it with each of the girls a handful of times. After that we put them in the big bath either with me or on their own with me crushing my lungs leaning over the side…no long term damage done…I don’t think! There is sooooo much s&*t out there to make expectant parents think they can’t get by without it. I honestly reckon that you can get by with a sling, a moses basket, some babygro’s and some nappies in the dreamy first few days. The evidence is in the cave paintings and hieroglyphics proving people have been doing this for awhile now and some of them (whisper it) without a bugaboo!!

9. Your child’s favourite food?

Porridge.

10. How many cars does your family have?

One.

11. Weight gain, before pregnancy, during, after and now?

No idea. I was the size of a tank when I was pregnant but lots of that was water as I had polyhydramnious both times. I am trying to pay more attention to being active and eating a more balanced diet than what I weigh . Basically if my jeans don’t fasten with the hair band I use to keep them up then we have a problem. I am trying to get out running a bit and have a 10km on Sunday…I’ve set aside the day to complete it! Plus, I am mega aware of how giving yourself a hard time about the way you look will be picked up on by your kids and I really, really don’t want that to happen. It’s such a waste of time to feel like crap about how you look but it is so difficult to switch off isn’t it.

Kids and weight

12. Dream holiday with your kids?

Lapland I reckon. I would absolutely LOVE to take the girls to meet Father Christmas and have a go at lots of snow man building, sledging and all that jazz. Snow and ice is where it’s at when you have skin as pale as mine!Lapland father christmas

13. Dream holiday without your kids?

This is hard. I’m torn between heading back to a place we’ve been to before and loved (Edinburgh,  New York or The Maldives) or trying somewhere totally new for us. I want us to have a round the world adventure when the girls have left home so I guess that’s my dream, kicking off in Australia I think. Fantastic!Whitsundays, Australia

14. How has your life changed since having kids?

Well, my boobs aren’t where they once were. I have less money, less time, more wrinkles, more stretch marks, I’m married to a dad for pity’s sake so I am clearly getting old but, day to day I am more loved than I ever have been before and I feel immense love and pride almost whenever I look at my babies. Not so much when they’re wailing on the floor of a shopping centre, but generally speaking, love and pride override the burning sense of shame!!

15. Finish the sentence “It makes heart melt when…”

I can hear my babies chattering and giggling and playing together. Best. Thing. Ever.

001

16. Where do you shop for your kids?

I tend to ask my sister to borrow her next catalogue, turn over a couple of the pages and then see what arrives in the post…cheeky hey! Seriously, we hardly ever buy clothes for the girls are they are given so many it is crazy. It is hard to resist though because matching outfits in weeny sizes are too cute for words.

17. Favourite make-up and skincare products?

HA HA HA HA HA.

A pampers babywipe pre bed is about my limit. I am looking 100 and I hate it. I need to get back into the effort thing but I just love my bed too much. I have just re-read this and reprimanded myself for being so slovenly. Grim. I will sort it…

18. Huggies or Pampers?

Aldi nappies are for me. Lots cheaper and do a fab job, just a shame I didn’t know about them right from the word go.

19. Have you always wanted kids?

Yeah, I think so. I was a nanny and babysat for lots and lots of really gorgeous girls and boys and playing with them made me think that this parenting malark might be quite nice. It’s a bit different when they’re actually yours though and no one is paying you to look after them 24/7…

Seriously, I’m doing this, every single day for free. Crazy.

20. Best part of being a mum?

Cosy nug time after we’ve finished with the bath and we are all snuggled up in bed having a cuddle. Life doesn’t get better than that (until someone makes a programme to replace In the Night Garden).

I tag Emma at The Cheshire Wife and, because I have taken so long to write this, I reckon everyone else has already been tagged! Tardy.

I’m linking this post with #AllAboutYou because, though it is baby centric, it is at least telling you a little more about how I feel about the whole shebang! #allaboutme

 

What are your favourite bits of being a parent? Would love to hear your answers…

Muma.

XxxX

2 responses to “All about me! (or Mummy Tag)

  1. aww what a lovely post! Me and the Mr don’t even have date nights now and the full time kids haven’t even arrived yet, I couldn’t imagine him being away loads though, that must have been tough!

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

