Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Love the Little Things #4

on February 15, 2014

Yo Yo Yo!! I am hoping that you are smiling today? I am and it is mainly thanks to the following things…

READ: We can not get through a day without reading at least three books in this house. When the big little was born and I was on maternity leave I was so worried I would turn into a onesie wearing, daytime TV addict that didn’t let us get into TV at all. This was a mistake of epic proportions as now, on a cold, wet, windy day when all you want to do is snuggle under a duvet and watch a film, I am required to read!! Annoying. I am going to persist with the film thing, whats not to love about some TV, a babychinno and a lovely snuggle?

The book of choice this week is…OAKEYNOKE. Oh, you haven’t heard of it you say?! You may be more familiar with the actual name of the book which is Pinocchio!!  Don’t you just love the mispronunciation from kids?!

Pinocchio, usborne books

This is part of an Usborne set.Not my fave version.

HEARD: Because I am trying to improve how I fit my blog into my daily life I have been saving up little notes for this blog post all week. I had a fantastic song all ready for my ‘heard’ section but it has just been ousted by the awesomeness of this tune which is on the radio right now:

I absolutely LOVE this tune and the whole album. It reminds me of my mum and dad having their friends over on a Friday night. My sister and I, and our two friends Rachel and Sarah Jane would play upstairs and often hear this album coming up through the floor and up the stairs.

I have already introduced the girls to it and one of my very favourite things is seeing them clapping and shaking their hair along to ‘Walk of Life’. That is the essence of joy right there and I wish I could freeze time in those moments. God Bless Mark Knoffler!!

The silver linings playbook

Parenting DeNiro style!

WATCHED: For Christmas I gave my mum the gift of time!!! Don’t be rolling your eyes and calling me cheap; it was a nice thoughtful gift of 12 vouchers inviting her and my sister to film night once a month at our house.

I make dinner and we snuggle up under a duvet and watch a film (see above for my views on this!) Last nights choice was Silver Lining Playbook. It was slow to start and I found some of it quite hard to watch because it reminded me of the worry I have caused my mum over the years.

You are always someones baby I guess and the film showed that there really is no ‘off’ on the parent switch. I won’t say more than that but give it a watch and stick with it beyond the first 15 minutes. If I am getting into film critic mode…It is useful that both of the main characters that are dealing with their own mental health stuff are hugely attractive but that’s Hollywood I guess…even gorgeous people have issues!

new look shoes

Shoes the colour of a Cadbury wrapper…what’s not to love.

 

WORN: This week I have been all about the accessories. We went out for dinner for my sister’s birthday and, since my wardrobe is limited and my purse is full of moths, I wore an ollllllld dress and added a vintage ’70’s belt which I bought when I was at uni. Check it out. I also wore some shoes (obviously) I believe the correct term for them is fierce (or cheap, it depends on your class/cool bracket). These are also old but look new since they have only been worn on one other occasion…on the cobbles of Edinburgh; foolish. I fell off them and twisted my ankle, not the look I was going for!

 

 

 

MADE: Oh why must we persist with this?! Actually, this week I have something food related that I can use. However, because it is me, it is one of from my fail-safe archive as opposed to anything groundbreaking or new…Fish Pie. The whole family can eat it and it tastes fantastic. Give it a go. 

FANTASTIC FISH PIE, jAMIE OLIVER

Tastes better than it looks, honest.

 

AND FINALLY: Because it is Valentines weekend, I wanted to share with you a poem that I read at one of my best friends weddings. I say read, I actually spluttered and cried my way through it like an idiot because I was so overcome with how brilliant it was to see people I love so happy and radiant.

“Sooner or later we begin to understand that love is more than verses on valentines, and romance in the movies.
We begin to know that love is here and now, real and true, the most important thing in our lives.
For love is the creator of our favorite memories, and the foundation of our fondest dreams.
Love is a promise that is always kept, a fortune that can never be spent, a seed that can flourish in even the most unlikely of places.
And this radiance that never fades,
this mysterious and magical joy, is the greatest treasure of all
one known only by those who love.”

Isn’t it lovely?

Happy Weekend People!!

Until next time.

Muma.

XxxX

Love the Little things butwhymummuwhy

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

