Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Love the little things #2

on February 3, 2014

Yo dudes. How ya doing? I am having a pretty tip top week so far. Oh, it’s only Monday. Quite a way to go until the shiny pinnacle of the week known as Saturday. Onwards and upwards people. Let’s not be glum!
On to one of my favourite posts of the week. Love the little things. An opportunity to share with you what I’ve been up to over the last seven days. Buckle up- it’s a crazy one!

Read: I have treated myself to a new book…it’s a running book!! I am really getting into it and, whilst waiting for the train the other day bought it on impulse. It’s pretty good. (Wow, what an impassioned review!) Also, I’ve read lots of fab blogs thanks to this linky. It’s great to see what others are up to. So far I’ve learnt that I need Grays Anatomy in my life, as a matter of urgency!

RUNNING BOOK

Watched: DRIVE. With Ryan Gosling. Incredible. Watch it. Immediately. and then buy the soundtrack.
20140203-211254.jpg

 

Heard: A couple of weeks ago I saw an article about a guy who had been contemplating suicide and had been talked down from a London bridge by a stranger. You probably saw it, it was all over Twitter with the hashtag #findmike

Today, I heard them both interviewed on the Jeremy Vine show.
Don’t get me wrong, there is a whole lot of crap of the Jeremy Vine show.
There are Daily Wail type subject headings designed to get ‘Angry of Andover’ shouting at the radio over the ruddy ridiculous state of the nation. Or the weather.
Today’s story was absolutely beautiful. Really heartwarming and another step to breaking the taboo of discussing mental health.
This is so very important to me, long may it continue. 🙂

Made: hmmm- I am scrabbling around here for something legitimate to fill this category. I have made a delicious dinner this evening which consisted of ribeye steak, pan fried mushrooms and, the piece de resistance; baked potatoes- IN THE SLOW COOKER. I can’t really refer to this as cooking. It is really just putting individual items in a pan to get really hot and then serving them together but the potatoes were amazing.
Put them in foil (with a little butter and salt if you like) and cook on low for 8-10hours. Pimps!
My immediate concern here is that I’ve set the bar too high and Mr L will now expect me to cook dinner tomorrow, and the next night and the next night. This won’t happen. He has met me.

Wore: I have been wearing a gorgeous necklace this week which was given to me last birthday by my friend Pipa. I absolutely love it because the sentiment is something I absolutely and totally believe in and really try to live by.One life, live it necklace

Tough when you’re reciting The magic porridge pot from memory whilst wiping your umpteenth nose/face/bum of the day whilst simultaneously acting as a living, breathing climbing frame.

And finally: I only went to Buckingham Palace this week!!!Buckingham Palace

To talk about Young Rewired State. Yup. Little old me, inside one of the most famous buildings in the world talking (quite eloquently I have to say) about one of the most exciting projects I have been involved in for a loooooooong time.

Pardon? Trip up the stairs you say? Don’t be so ridiculous, that would have made me look utterly stupid.

It was someone else….that looked like me.
A lot.

3 responses to “Love the little things #2

  1. Wow, Young Rewired State looks like a fantastic project! Get you, going to Buckingham Palace and everything, how exciting!
    That whole Find Mike thing just makes me cry every time I read it about it, just shows what a difference we can all make and often without even knowing.
    Thanks for linking up, have a great week! x

  2. […] lots of you have been asking since I name dropped about the Palace (yes that’s correct; actual Buckingham Palace and actual me) what this new and fantabulous job I […]

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

