Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Love the Little Things!

on January 24, 2014

It’s Friday.

It’s Friday.

IT’S FRIDAY!!!!!

Wooooo Hooooo.

Now, many people, my husband included have been guilty of uttering the, frankly ridiculous statement

“Yeah, but it doesn’t really matter if you’re not working does it”.

Two points to note here:

1) He has been working away- I haven’t caved his head in and buried him under the patio ala Beth Jordash and co.

2) YES IT DOES MATTER.

Everything is different at the weekend.

  • There are other humans around, not only mummy mates and, if you are lucky there is someone to share the chores with.

NB: to all my mummy mates- I don’t mean ‘only’, you are very important to me. What I am getting at is that you don’t always need to leave the house for adult conversation and, sometimes you can have that convo in your pants whilst being mauled by a toddler. Lovely stuff!

  • There is the suggestion that you might buy a paper and leaf through it in a leisurely fashion over brunch*
  • There is Saturday Kitchen and a what feels like whole world of possibilities. **

Friday (or Saturday eve as I like to call it) is also the day that this lovely linky called Love the Little Thingsย comes out and (because I am a dufus, I saw this on twitter, thought it looked ace and then promptly lost the link) this is my very first one! A little late to the party but happy to be here never the less.

Soooo- the name of the game with this is to tell you, in brief, what has been going on in our world this week using various titles as prompts. Fab idea because it means you don’t have to warble on too much though as you can see I have already epically failed with that.***

Anyway, onto the task in ;ย our week in topic form…

Read

Dogger, by Shirley Hughes

The Dave Book

This week has been pretty book heavy in Leary Land- the book of the moment is called ‘The Dave Book’.

It is actually called Dogger but, as we all know, the little boy who Dogger belongs to is called Dave and so, that is how we refer to it.

I love this book.

My Grandma read it to my sister and I as children and it is such a gorgeous tale about toys being lost and found and a caring big sister. The story will never date but, just to be a geek for a minute, the illustrations are a total social commentary on the time. Fantastic.

Watched

This week, do not ask me why, I watched this!!!

I think it is because I watched Les Miserables over the weekend and I love the song so I searched on you tube and- well, SuBo was always going to be top wasn’t she! Crazy to think that she had that voice for 48 years before anyone really knew! The hairs on the back of my neck stood up- again. What a talent. and what a geek I am!

Heard

The very very very favorite thing I have heard this week/ever comes from my babies;

‘Muma’ says the big little one.

Yes.

‘Muma, I love you much.’

This is the most beautiful sentence I have ever heard and it was followed by her cupping my face in her hands and planting a big fat kiss on my mouth.

The second thing was when I heard the big little and the little little babbling to each other from their cots one morning. The babbles became giggle and the giggles became belly laughs. When I crept in they were both bouncing in their cots holding on to the sides. ย It was amazing.

Important to note that it was subsequently followed by a bang and a wail but, for this story, I will gloss over that. (no long-term damage done to baby or cot)

Made

Ah ha! This week we made a den.

In a wardrobe.

With actual doors.

It is brilliant.

Cosy Nug in the den.

Cosy Nug in the den.

I was thinking that by creating a cool space like this for the girls they’d want to be in there all the time and I would have hours to blog, clean, change the world but, as it happens, they only like it if I am in there with them too- oh well, there will come a day when that is the last thing they want so I am absolutely going to crowbar myself into a cupboard and read to my babies all afternoon.

Looking a bit like Penfold I think!

Wore

My contact lenses. It seems that glasses are no longer an option for me in this house.

It leads to the little little one taking them off my face every two minutes and the big little one snatching them from her and giving a stern

‘They are no toys. They are muma’s glasses’.

It is just easier this way!

 

 

And lastly..

As you are reading this we are skipping off to collect the gorgeous Mr L from the station. ****

We will again be a little unit of 4! YEY.

He has been away for two weeks and it has been pretty tough on occasion so this weekend we are going to embrace the park and the swimming and the den and LOVE LIFE. All the messy, crazy, imperfect madness that it is.

I can’t wait.

What are you up to this weekend?

Muma

XxxX

*this will remain a stupid tongue in cheek gag until your children are at uni or have otherwise flown the nest.

**Essentially these possibilities include going to the park either before or after lunch and, whether to risk swimming too what with the history we have at our local pool!

***I’m afraid I write as I speak and, that means that these words are basically spilling out of my brain and onto the page without editing and my only deep-seated regret is that none of you are here to see the furious speed at which I am writing! It is immense.

**** Only if you are reading this on Friday lunchtime ish on day of publishing!

Love the Little things butwhymummuwhy

18 responses to “Love the Little Things!

  1. Love this! So pleased that you found us again and joined in!
    The pictures of your little ones are just so cute. My two love den building, they aren’t so good with putting the endless number of blankets and cushions away when they’ve finished though!!
    Have a great weekend and enjoy being back to a 4 again xx

  2. I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one who uses Saturday Kitchen as a marker to what we can still do on a Saturday. If it’s nearly over then I know we’ll just be getting to the supermarket and back to get supplies for lunch. If we’re off on a Big Adventure then I might manage to watch the first 5 minutes between shouting at the kids to get their shoes on.

  3. gbrad1981 says:

    Ah so cute!!! We have a den too, Big E loves it but little E is too small to be left by herself in there yet. I’m looking forward to the time when I can leave them to their own devices and get on with my own stuff. Wishful thinking hey? x

  4. Lakes Mum says:

    this sounds a lovely linky! you have had a great week – enjoy being 4 again

  5. Hurnae says:

    Lol I completely understand the glasses thing. Babies love them xx

  6. Jenny says:

    Oh I can’t wait for den building days to come. Mine are still quite little for this but I have fond memories of making them myself when I was growing up. Pictures are adorable! And I love the #littleloves linky it’s fantastic.

  7. Notmyyearoff says:

    Z loves debs and we constantly have to sit in it till our knees go all numb ๐Ÿ™‚ I love Saturday kitchen. It’s sooo nice to just sit and watch it and all the different chefs popping up making nice food. It always feels like its going on for hours too. Bliss! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mumaleary says:

      I tend to only be able to snatch little seconds of it at the moment but I’m sure I’ll get chance to sit and watch again one day…and then recreate the masterpieces with the kids help…obviously!!! (Dreaming!)

  8. notafrumpymum says:

    I used to love Dogger, it was one of my favourite stories as a kid. I was thinking about it the other day but couldn’t remember the name so a massive thank you. I’m heading off to Amazon now to order it to read to my little boy. I’m so excited! x

    • Mumaleary says:

      I absolutely love reading to the girls and can not wait to rediscover all the books I read as a child.
      I would so love to write a book, imagine knowing that kids are reading something created by you. Amazing.

  9. I am laughing out loud!!! I also looked up Su Bo’s version of I dreamed a dream after watching Les Mis!!!!!! But was just too ashamed to fess up to that on my post!!!!!

    • Mumaleary says:

      Fab!
      My mum always says that the name of the game is to make people laugh so job done. Glad you liked it.
      SuBo…what can you say hey. That sound is a total guilty pleasure and all the more because people were so ready to have a laugh at her expense.

  10. Hannah says:

    I love hearing mine giggle and play together such a lovely sound! Glad you’re all reunited! Your post is great and you made me chuckle which is always good! X

  11. Bec Cowley says:

    I love this post! The den looks fantastic! I’ve been thinking of doing a tent like canopy thing in my little girls room, but I may just put some blankets and cushions in her wardrobe! Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included โ€“ sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

