Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

An idea for Jo Malone…

on January 9, 2014

It might have become clear from some previous blog posts that I LOVE Jo Malone. Specifically, I love Pomegranate Noir.

Beautiful presentation and packaging...not so good for the environment...

Beautiful presentation and packaging…not so good for the environment…

I don’t like ‘stuff’ in general, and I don’t like rubbish so, when people ask me what I’d like for birthday’s, Christmas etc this is invariably the answer.

HOWEVER…I have got a little suggestion to make to Jo Malone (not the person Jo Malone, she is now doing her thing at Jo LOVES which I haven’t yet tried).

YOU NEED TO RECYCLE.
YOU NEED TO OFFER REFILLS and, if you are feeling generous,
YOU COULD OFFER AN INCENTIVE SCHEME (like MAC)

 

The reason I feel compelled to write a blog post about this is because I received some gorgeous bits for Christmas which come in really beautiful packaging.
It is in perfect condition.
It is too good to chuck in the recycling (because it takes energy blah blah blah to break down and make into something new) but I have no use for it and I am in danger of becoming someone who keeps things ‘just in case’. This is not a trait I wish to encourage.

I have asked in store and over the phone (I didn’t call specifically for this reason- I am not an elderly nosy curtain twitcher type) but no one knew of any schemes and this evening, to prevent myself from looking like a total idiot when I get a reply saying- we do recycle; this scheme already exists you fool, I have also checked the website and asked on twitter but nada, nothing. ZIP. so here is my plea…

Please can you make a refill for your room defusers so I don’t have to chuck away the perfect glass container.
Please can you offer a scheme where by people can return their boxes and bags and
Please, please can you offer an incentive scheme such as the one MAC runs, basically a free lippie if you bring back 6 empties. See more info here.

It’s just an idea- I’m not suggesting I will boycott your stores or anything- quite frankly, popping in and giving myself a cheeky (very generous) spritz is one of the few times I wear perfume but still, it’s important so, give it some thought.

I was wondering if you don’t do this because you feel it might devalue the brand? I honestly don’t think it would. It is everyone’s responsibility to try to cut down on waste, luxury or everyday item and I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanking you very much in advance,

XxxxX

Do you think recycling cheapens a brand or devalues a product? Let me know what you think…

2 responses to “An idea for Jo Malone…

  1. […] to receive some of their products for Christmas, they were at the forefront of my mind when I wrote this (so far unanswered post) over a month ago. There are many, many more companies that I could name. I just want to highlight […]

  2. […] to receive some of their products for Christmas, they were at the forefront of my mind when I wrote this (so far unanswered post) over a month ago. There are many, many more companies that I could name. I just want to highlight […]

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

