Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

That was the year that was…

on December 30, 2013
Kirsten Cohen

Kirsten Cohen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

HOLY SMOKE BATMAN…TOMORROW IS NEW YEARS EVE…

The eve of 2014- To me, this sounds like some utterly ridiculous Back to the Future sort of year which is still eons away but no, closer inspection of my brand spanking new ‘Family Organiser’ confirms that we are rapidly approaching the dawn of 2014.

Lets all take a moment now to say a quick WTF?!

By 2014 I was due to be an absolute, fully fledged, completely sorted, Grown up.

I expected to be swanning around like the stunning Kirsten Cohen from The OC (an actual documentary of real life set in the good ol’ U S of A).

Instead I find myself living in a onesie (often stained) careering from calamity to catastrophe via ongoing chaos, exposing myself to randomers at swimming pools and kissing doctors hands in error. 

I  am basically a hybrid of Roseanne (from Roseanne) and Deborah from Everybody loves Raymond stopping just north of Kerry Katona (and that is only because I’m still on husband numero uno- lucky little blighter that he is!!)

 

Now, just incase you haven’t been with me right from the get go, here is a whistle-stop tour of The Muma Leary Year…hold on to your hats.

Ok; January saw the Leary clan move lock stock and barrel t’up North and the arrival of the amazing baby H. Admittedly my under carriage was torn to shreds in the process but that’s a small price to pay for our glorious baby though it has taken me the best part of a year to say that!

And H makes 4!

And H makes 4!

February was a blur of sleepless nights, clearing up sick and wondering whether I’d ever sit comfortably without the use of a tyre again but, it was also the month that baby B became a bone fide toddler able to walk on her own- finally!

I have no recollection what so ever of anything important happening in March– please correct me if in fact we attended your wedding, christening or anything else…if we did, it was quite frankly, immense. Oh, we did get some beautiful pictures taken; thanks Kate 🙂

Our beautiful babies.

Our beautiful babies.

In April my fantastic friend gave birth to the awesome Archie, YEY and, I started my blog!! (whoop whoop) From here on in it gets far easier for me to pretend I can recall what I was doing month to month. April was mainly the whole swimming incident– awkward!

What's so funny?!

What’s so funny?!

Ah, May, you promise us so much with your two bank holiday bullshit; that’ll be a relaxing, chilled out sort of affair then. Won’t it? Happily, May also heralded the arrival of Lovely Louis.

In June my wonderful mum turned 70 but, since she doesn’t read the blog (RUDE!) there is absolutely no point in me waxing lyrical about how much I love her and how grateful I am for all of the things she does for us all everyday.

The 3 musketeers

The 3 musketeers

Instead I will refer you back to the blog about moving house because we don’t have an airing cupboard- criminal!

July saw me publish my 2 most read posts of the year; one about the Lovely Kate and the other about stupid OK magazine . We also found out just how lucky we are to have the NHS when B had ecoli and we had to spend 5 days in hospital. A pretty grim time.

Flip dudes, August already hey, my recap of the year is flying…only one thing of note in this month; baby H’s naming day which was almost a wash out due to the pox; oh, and it was Mr L’s birthday 😉

The shades are to hide the bags; not because I think I'm a celeb!

The shades are to hide the bags; not because I think I’m a celeb!

September saw B’s second birthday, my 33rd, another friend popping out another bundle of beautiful and, the reminder that sometimes your day is just going to be one big epic fail!

By October, my tolerance levels for people making stupid comments about my children was at an all time low so I’m afraid Daphne was treated to a blog all of her very own, horrid old hag.

Don’t panic dear reader, we are nearing the end; it is November and that means onesies and hanging out at home. Trying to become a competent cook and ultimately failing…again!

It's a horse in a onesie...what's not to love?!

It’s a horse in a onesie…what’s not to love?!

And so, that is it; 2013 in a massive nutshell. Huge! Well done if you’ve made it this far. It is like my very own, none boasting round robin Christmas letter.

December has been far too manic for blogging but, we did attend a lovely wedding reception for the luscious Dave and Cathy. As I left, midway through the meal, covered in baby sick and looking like a frazzled, sweating, stress-head, I was asked if this is what you have to look forward to when you become a parent. The answer is not a simple one but it is best answered here, here or, unfortunately, here…sorry guys!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL MY LOVELIES.

20131029-230947.jpg

If you are looking for an easily achievable resolution to make, I have a few suggestions; like my Facebook page, follow me on twitter and subscribe to my blog, it would make my day!

Here’s hoping that 2014 is a happy and healthy one for us all.

XXXX

6 responses to “That was the year that was…

  1. suzanne3childrenandit says:

    Best round up yet! What a year you’ve all had 🙂 Looking forward to following your blog in 2014! Ps My mum turned 70 in May, you wrote more about your mum that I did – rude! Happy New Year 🙂

  2. amanda walsh says:

    Sounds like a whirlwind years,looking forward to reading your 2014 posts

  3. Lakes Mum says:

    blimey sounds an adventure! that horse in a onesie made me grin 🙂

  4. Hannah Green says:

    Such an amazing year, I hope this one is just as good. Oh my how funny is that horse onsie, i have to share that one xx

  5. Hurnae says:

    Happy New Year!! 🙂 I got my first ever onesie for Christmas this year and I love it! Great post, looks like you had a fab year 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

