Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Hey Heinz…your days are numbered dude.

on November 15, 2013

This week I have been swanning around like some kind of pro bloggy type and have been to an event at The Cheshire Cookery School. Get me!

20131114-223135.jpg

I was enticed to attend by two things:

1) It was a cookery workshop (I need all the help I can get!)
2) I was allowed to take the toddler (bonding experience and no childcare costs)

Now, the event was hosted by Oven Pride and, because of my total and utter flipping stupidity, in my head Oven Pride was actually Home Pride, you know, the cooking sauce with the little men wearing bowler hats?
20131114-223042.jpg

No.
Oven pride- as the name suggests- is an OVEN cleaner. Ah ha.
The reason for the cooking class was because cooking is what makes your oven dirty and hence in need of cleaning.
AH HA. Now I understand.
What a muppet!

Happily, I did not divulge this on the day. For once I actually kept my mouth shut so the first that the lovely organisers will know of my idiocy is as they read this and wonder how I am allowed to be in change of minors.

To make me feel like even more of a tool, I was there with two actual grown ups both of whom knew one end of a spoon from the other. I would absolutely place them in the competent mother category. I meanwhile felt like a bit of a fraud and thus went into over drive with nervous humour. I made a joke about a probe for goodness sake.
Not embarrassing at all.

So, for today’s Foodie Friday, I will divulge to you Kirks recipe for some absolutely gorgeous home made baked beans.

I reckon that this is absolutely perfect bonfire sort of fodder but, since that has been and gone, it will suffice for any winter evening when you are snuggling by the fire and need a bowl of something hearty and wholesome.

What you need:

2 tablespoons oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 pepper, diced. We used red but you could use a variety. World’s your oyster and all that!
1 can of mixed beans, drained
1 can of chopped tomatoes
1/2 pint chicken stock
Handful of diced chorizo.
Handful of smoked bacon lardons
Pinch of smoked paprika
Tablespoon of tomato purée
Salt and pepper
(Garlic, chilli and herbs- optional)

What you do:

If you are not at a cookery workshop you will have to measure out all of your own stuff and no doubt wash and tidy up after yourself.
I was saved this hideous indignity because all of my ingredients were laid out and a lovely lady tidied everything up after me. It was fab. 🙂
You on the other hand will have to be the head chef and the kitchen porter.
(Infact, if this event has taught me anything it is that I could be a brilliant chef if I was able to employ people to do all the prep parts! Anyway, I digress, back to the recipe….)

Gently soften the onions over a medium heat until they are see through.
Add the chorizo, lardons and tomato puree plus the garlic, chilli etc if you are using them.
Add in the peppers and paprika and give it all a good stir.
Add in the beans and chopped tomatoes and chicken stock and bring up to the boil on the stove.
Transfer into a casserole dish and whack in the oven until the liquid has reduced as much as you’d like and you are ready to rock.

20131114-224906.jpg

Now, because I’m a forward thinking, avante garde sort of cook, I serve this with a lovely grating of cheese on the top- it’s what all the cool kids are doing!

As we were at a cookery event they made bread and meatballs to go with the beans. They were both really easy and fab to do with kids.
However, it was at this point I made an inappropriate gag about the probe. I am SUCH a child!

20131114-224353.jpg

Second awkward point of the day came when we were being shown the brilliance of Oven Pride… When asked when I last cleaned my cooker, I had to admit that, although I am 33 and have actually lived in 9 different homes including at uni, teacher training etc etc, I have never actually cleaned an oven anymore thoroughly than using a fish slice to flick off the cooked on cheese.
I suppose now I have an actual box of actual oven cleaner I need to actually clean it.
Flipping heck, there really is no such thing as a free lunch.

Have a brilliant weekend ladies and gents, see you next time.

XxxxX

20131114-231205.jpg

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

More Than Toast

Motherhood, Beauty, Style, Interiors, Travel, Food, Life.

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

