Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Easy Peasy Chocolate Torte.

on October 27, 2013

Since Friday’s post on what I shall now refer to as ‘Daphnegate’, I have been inundated with stories of the utter stupidity of strangers from other mums! Read some of them here. It has made me feel somewhat better about my ‘run in’ in the bread aisle but, stodgy white carbs do something to me!

I have also been swamped with literally tens of requests to know what I eventually made with my freebie chocolate and so, here is a little recipe that you can try which is ideal for an autumnal evening with a little trickle of cream. Yum!

Easy Peasy Chocolate Torte.

20131027-112653.jpg

Ingredients:
200g unsalted butter
200g bar dark chocolate, 70% cocoa, chopped
4 large eggs
200g golden caster sugar
50g plain flour
50g ground almonds
cocoa powder, for dusting

20131027-111036.jpg

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/160C if your oven is fan assisted (ah- I am only seeing this piece of info now I am typing the recipe out…that will go someway to explaining my dark crust then šŸ˜‰ )
  • Butter and line the base of a springform or loose-bottomed cake tin.
  • Smash up the chocolate, ideally whilst it is still in the foil. This is a particularly satisfying activity if you are in anyway frustrated if, say someone has called you stupid in a supermarket or something!
  • Put the chocolate and butter in a pan and melt over a low heat until it looks lovely and glossy and gorgeous. Whilst you are doing this feel your heart sink into your shoes as you see that it has just started to pour down and your newly dyloned bedding is now drenched. Ah- good another occasion where the weather gods conspire against you reaching the pinnacle of domestic brilliance.
  • Beat the eggs and sugar together for approx. 5 minutes until it looks a lovely pale yellow. In the recipe it says about the thickness of old fashioned custard. In our family custard used to require a knife so I prefer until it is thick and voluminous and will plop nicely off a spatula.
  • Fold gently into the choc/butter mix with a metal spoon. Don’t over do this bit.
  • Fold in all the dry ingredients until even and then spoon into the tin.
  • Bake for 35/40 minutes until evenly set with a slight crust.
  • Remove from tin when still slightly warm, dust with cocoa and cut into wedges.

*Tip from the top* if you want neat wedges put your knife into a jug of boiling water first and cut with conviction! I learnt that from watching a chef whilst I was a waitress.

I wouldn’t necessarily advocate this as a recipe for baking with young children, there isn’t any fun stirring or spooning or anything that they can do and, if you leave them to attend to your choc/butter loveliness you may very well turn the corner to see this…stick to crispy cakes for now hey!

20131027-111654.jpg

20131027-111721.jpg

This is a recipe from Good Food Magazine Feb 2010. You obviously didn’t think it was my own!

Despite the slight over cooking, this torte was moist and lovely. Very easy I imagine if cooking alone whilst listening to a bit of 6 music or the like.

So, there you have it my little lovelies. An easy peasy chocolate torte that I made with my freebie chocolate courtesy of Tesco Finest. And, because I take my responsibility as a reviewer so incredibly seriously, I took the liberty of using my money off vouchers to purchase a selection of their other flavours- they are lush and go perfectly with a nice cup of cha. Happily they are on offer now so get involved!

That’s all folks, we are off swimming shortly. I am hoping that it works out better than my previous experiences…nervous!!

2 responses to “Easy Peasy Chocolate Torte.

  1. Mrs Try-hard says:

    I think I’ll give this ago! Sounds yum Xx

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help fashion, beauty and lifestyle bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included ā€“ sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

