Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Who fancies a Fresh Start?

on October 4, 2013

WHOOP WHOOP!!

It’s Friday, I’ve survived my week of juicing. yup, that’s right. Not one piece of solid food has passed my lips since my dinner on Sunday night, apart from these;
20131004-203418.jpg

I can’t believe it.

I wanted to give juicing a go because lately I have become really aware of my diet and how quickly I seem to be getting absolutely knackered.
I frequently want to crawl into bed as soon as the kids are down and, more than that, I feel like I am aging. uurgh. not good.

During a normal day we are so busy (don’t ask me what we do!) that I often have a slice of toast in the morning and then nothing for hours- or, I stick my head in the fridge and scoff a mini babel (or chocolate, yeah, most likely chocolate actually) at various points throughout the day. Not ideal!
20131004-204025.jpg

I am so keen to give my girls a healthy body image and a good relationship with food that I seriously needed a kick up the bum to sort myself out.

My sister, who loves a fad, told me about juicing and so I thought I’d give it a whirl (yes, I said a give it a whirl!! I may as well be a pensioner)

I called Melissa, the owner of Fresh Start Health on the Wirral, who talked me through the various juicing options.
Now, I am a somewhat all or nothing character to be honest so the idea of one juice a day and a healthy balanced diet for the rest of the time wasn’t for me. Nope, I was all about the hard core, cold turkey, 5 day, pull no punches, detox.

I sensibly prepared for the coming week with fish and chips on Thursday night, excessive wine on the Friday and a last supper wispa duo on the Sunday night. (this is not exactly what Melissa recommends) on the plus side I did seriously cut down my caffeine in the previous week. YEY ME; Small victories!

There are several ways to juice but I opted for the easy peasey lemon squeezy method- freshly frozen. BRILLIANT.

  • No cooking
  • No washing up
  • No cleaning

PERFECT!

Basically, Melissa brings all of the freshly made juices round to your house and you put them in the freezer.

You then get 4 out each evening (on my plan) and drink them instead of eating meals through out the day.

Don’t forget to do this or you will have to put them in a warm bath whilst you try to stop yourself from eating your own arm due to hunger!

I’m not going to lie, it isn’t easy it’s really, really tough.
On Monday and Tuesday I had a really bad headache and felt quite coldy but I soldiered on. (you don’t need to tell me what a hero I am)

Some of the juices taste lovely (Bananarama or something was my personal fave) and I would chose to drink them detox or not, think Innocent- yum!
Others are not really my cup of tea but none, I promise none, are horrid.
20131004-210213.jpg

I seriously increased my water intake which meant that I was needing a wee loads more than usual but (here’s the science bit) it was so pale that I felt chuffed I was properly cleaning out my system…is that over sharing?

Oh, on that score- if you do juice, don’t expect to need too many number two’s, your body has much less to get rid of as it uses all the goodness the juice is giving you- what a time saver!

Now, I am sure that there are many, many health benefits to this juicing malarky but, there are other, hidden pluses too; you see me sitting here writing this blog now? Its because I haven’t got to cook or wash up ๐Ÿ˜‰

I didn’t need to think about food or drink for me which is another massive time saver! Going to the shop with two little ones just to feed my chocolate habit is both time consuming and tiresome- plus embarrassing when the buggy knocks over the flower bucket at the end of the chocolate aisle. Tres Awkward.

Seriously though, this week has given me a real desire to eat more healthily and look after myself more consistently. I feel way more energetic, I think my skin looks clearer and more plump and I have lost 4lbs. I know that isn’t a mega amount but I was impressed, really impressed. Several people, including my own mother (for those of you that know me will know that she only speaks the truth in the way only a mum can!) have commented on how healthy and slim I look. JOB DONE!

The 5 day detox sounds expensive, it is ยฃ80.00, basically ยฃ4.00 per juice but you don’t need to buy anything else for those days (and how easy is it to spend a fiver in costa?)

Obviously it’s not something you’ll be doing monthly but I would absolutely recommend it for a seasonal cleanse and reboot and, you can juice yourself, have one a day or try a mix of what you think would work for you.

Now off for a big fat steak healthy and balanced meal so I don’t undo all of this hard work ๐Ÿ™‚

Loads of love (bit over the top as I am so full of beans at the result!)

Muma Leary

XxxxX

PS- I was given the 5 day juicing detox at a 50% discount but all of the opinions are my own.
Thanks Melissa.
If you want to give it a try, all the contact details are here. Tell her Muma sent you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 responses to “Who fancies a Fresh Start?

  1. Brilliant Tanya, well done. Iโ€™m delighted youโ€™re enjoying the end results. It can be tough for the first day or two, particularly if you launch straight in as you did, but if you hang on in there the increase in energy, flatter tummy and weight loss, as well as all the internal benefits you canโ€™t see or measure, are well worth it. Thank you for giving it a go and for writing about it. Melissa

    • Mumaleary says:

      Thanks for letting me Melissa. I think your next project should be freshly frozen soups to help people maintain momentum in the colder months.
      I genuinely am chuffed with the results and, like you said (but I took with a pinch of salt) my mindset has changed too.
      Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Well now, funny you should mention soup …. My new all singing all dancing blender will be arriving this week so soups are next in line for production! Recipes at the ready ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

A Lifestyle & Family Blog

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included โ€“ sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

