Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

My very first #BlogSummit. Yup- I’m a serious blogger type!

on September 14, 2013

Evening all,

Well, here I am blogging on the sofa following an amazing day at the Tots100 BlogSummit.
My tiny and understretched mind barely understood a word of the techy bits and pieces that Geek Mummy shared but have resolved to read both her blog on the subject and the Tots100 Back to School tutorials on their site.
I am not an idiot, I am just new to this so I will read and learn and I will figure this out.
If over the next few weeks you hear a pained scream in the wee small hours it is very likely me frustrated with a plugin or widget or something- keep your ears peeled and tweet me to check on my well being any time you like.
Yes, at the moment, I am an egg but that is also on my list of things to fix. πŸ˜‰

I have put faces to many of the bloggers that I follow or subscribe to and have met many more that I will be checking out as soon as I get home (I started writing this post on the train home such is my keenness to up my Klout!)
Well, not as soon as I get home, as soon as I get home is bath time with my girlies. (Check. Lots of splashing, minimal crying. Result!)
Then lasagne with the husband (Check) and then an evening of mulling over how to conquer the Tots100 index. The bloggers equivalent of the Top 40 pre all of that nasty Jimmy Saville business. Stage one, get the badge on my page obv!

Having been on maternity leave now for 9 months I have completely forgotten how to dress professionally, behave professionally and how to interact with other adults without a minimum of one child hugging my leg, offering me a pretend cup of tea or crying into my ear hole.
It is a pleasant surprise that I have got through the day unscathed and, dare I say it, even a little bit enlightened and educated?! I have not done any character voices all day. Weird.

The day kicked off with Ben of Goodbye Pert Breasts fame talking about how and why he blogs, why it is ok to be controversial and even offensive.
I totally agree with the premise that ‘the only thing worse than being talked about is, not being talked about’. So will be including more of my forthright opinions and views from now on.
If anyone has a problem with that I will direct them to Ben. πŸ˜‰

I was also particularly interested in his forthcoming book as a couple of my friends and friends of friends have lost babies either through miscarriage, stillbirth or SIDS.
The book is called How I Came to Hold You. and is available to purchase here.

Sarah McIntyre was a whole lot of Awesome in a beautiful hat and I was swept along in her enthusiasm for cartoons and characters and general crazy imaginings despite my utter inability to draw even a stick.
Not a stick man, not a stick family, a stick. I can not draw. Sad times.

I can however, appreciate that fun pictures and activities enables everyone to get involved in your posts and gives a brilliant reason to return time after time to your page and engage with you on a really personal level.
I love this.
I need more sea creature wigs in my life. Who doesn’t quite frankly?

The food was delicious but I’ve got to confess I am so pleased that I am not a serious foodie blogger. That sounds like some proper, proper hard work.
Hats off totally to Emily at A Mummy too and Helen at Fuss Free Flavours, I will certainly be trying out your recipes and will continue to share my own occasional culinary triumphs and, more usual disasters to the page, but as for being a proper foodie blogger with the pics and the props and the possible pitfalls…nooooo way.
If I add two types of cheese to my beans on toast I feel like Marco Pierre White so anything much more challenging than that and I expect to receive a letter from The Queen herself in the post. It is yet to happen.

Thank you very much to Sally for the arranging and all the info on the holy grail of the Tots100 index and to all of you fellow bloggers who made this newbie feel very welcome (even if I still have a huge amount to learn!) I am about to tweet you a link to this and request a retweet. I hear you love that kind of thing.

Night All!

Muma Leary.

PS- do not think for one cotton pickin second that I didn’t take on board all the advice about the pictures. Adding images to blogs and all that jazz.
Small issue in that my IPad ran out of juice. #schoolgirl.
And now, because I listened ΓΌber carefully to all of the scary legal stuff on swiping I am too afraid to look for any others!
PPS- I didn’t go down the road of naming everyone I spoke to on here because it would be just awful if I forgot someone so, if I spoke to you (and you spoke back), it was lovely to meet you.
If you didn’t speak back, I know where I stand!

19 responses to “My very first #BlogSummit. Yup- I’m a serious blogger type!

  1. You’re well on your way to Blogdom now. That is a really interesting & entertaining post. Hope I meet you at a future event. As a fairly new blogger I probably would have benefitted from the advice too.

    • Mumaleary says:

      Well, you can link through to much of the advice via the post. The ladies (and gents) I met today were really happy to share their advice and experiences so I guess the key is to read other blogs and ask if you aren’t sure about something- or google it! The answer will be somewhere on the old tinterweb no doubt.
      Thank you for reading. Glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

  2. ListeningMum says:

    Hi, lovely to meet you today. Enjoyed reading your post, I also found it entertaining. Looking forward to reading more of your post.
    From a fellow Newbie Blogger .

    • Mumaleary says:

      Great to meet you too.
      You certainly have important knowledge and understanding of deaf issues to share so I will look out for your posts.
      Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚

  3. redrosemummy says:

    Lovely to meet you today. Shout if you ever need any help, I’m by no means an expert but always happy to help!

  4. It was lovely to meet you today πŸ™‚ I’m going to be stalking your blog now watching for the Tots100 badge to appear in your sidebar πŸ™‚

  5. sarahcru says:

    What a fantasitic post and good luck with all your plans x

  6. Mummy Says says:

    It sounds like a great day! Can’t remember the last day I had without doing a single character voice πŸ˜‰

  7. mummyoftwo2 says:

    It was great to meet you and this is a fabulous round up of the day! Good luck with your blogging adventure and remember to ask if you need help – most of us are quite approachable (unless you catch us on a bad day!) πŸ™‚

    • Mumaleary says:

      Really lovely to meet you too. The NW blogging events sound fab so I will get involved in them if I can.
      I will be asking for help- you may get sick of me! Apologies in advance. πŸ™‚

  8. Sal T says:

    Ey up luv. Great to meet you. Thanks for being the only person to recognise our blog (even if you do say that to EVERYONE at a blogging event.) Now sign up to Blogfest. Go. GO!

  9. Great post! I only just found it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Lets Talk Mommy

a lifestyle & parenting blog

Bonjour, Blogger!

Celebrating all things blogger and educating to help bloggers develop their site into something amazing

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

confessionsofatryhard.wordpress.com/

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

JakiJellz

Lifestyle & Family

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

