Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

One for me, One for you; A Saturday Book Review #2

on May 10, 2014

Morning All,

Hope that you’re all well and happy. As you read this, I am very likely breathing into a teeny doll or bandaging somebodies head. I am finally going on my Red Cross first aid course. I’ll feedback on how we get on but I fully expect to be asked to be an extra in Casualty once I’m up to speed. 

Anyway, last weeks one for me, one for you went down pretty well so, here is my second book review for the big and little kids amongst us all. In case you missed last weeks, you can check it out here but- this is basically it: 

ONE FOR ME: This is a review of a real life grown up book- This could prove to be the down fall of this feature…me finding time to read a book each week and then tell you about it.

 

ONE FOR YOU: The YOU I am referring to here is my babies- so, this will be a children’s book that we have read and enjoyed. This shouldn’t be too tricky since both girls love books though for the little little they are used more as elements of an obstacle course as opposed to a literary educational tool!

 

Without further ado, here’s this weeks offerings: 



ONE FOR ME: The Lovely Book for Wonderful Women. Just to be totally up front; I was sent this book to review by the lovely people at Pinter and Martin. I expect they will be hammering down my door in person soon to publish my spectacular poetry- fame won’t change me dear reader, worry not.

The Lovely Book for Wonderful Women

ISBN: 978-1-78066-160-5


Thankfully, it’s not a novel.
It is a coffee table book or, if you’re me, a toilet read. It is the sort of book that you can dip into and flick through and wish you had the time to do the things it suggests.
It is an ideal book to give as a gift to the woman in your life that has everything…we all have one of them don’t we.
Written by Lehla Eldridge it contains advice for life. Little snippet suggestions which are bound to perk you up. Like a sort of literary tonic.
Some of the advice might provoke an eye roll…
Enjoy the rain…I’d love to but it usually starts pissing it down just as we’re walking to nursery…in flip flops.


Some of it will only serve to remind you of the time you don’t have…Give yourself the time to dream…Sure, I’ll get on to that just as soon as I’ve finished the washing/ironing/cooking/cleaning etc etc


Some is a part of my daily routine…Eat a big piece of cake


But all of it is stuff we should be making more time for in our daily lives to prevent the burn out and the drudgery which can take over if you don’t take the time to smell the roses.

he lovely book for wonderful women

At best; Risky.
At worst; Could ruin your day!

The aim of the book is to ‘inspire happiness’ and as I read through the suggestions I did find myself smiling and, if each of us tried to do even just one or two things that Lehla suggests the world would most definitely be a sunnier place. Here’s the two tips that I’m taking away:

1) Make time to talk to your girlfriends…Get that trip booked Rimmer.

2) Perform Random Acts of Love and Kindness…to that end I am happy to share a special discount code with you if you do fancy buying this for a wonderful woman in your life via the publishers direct. Use code lbblog20 and you’ll receive 20% off and free post and packing.

Buy this book and give it to a friend to let them know they’re loved.he lovely book for wonderful women


ONE FOR YOU: Since this week I have been an absolute emotional train wreck of a person I have chosen a totes emosh book called ;
Wherever you are, my love will find you.

Wherever you are my love will find you. Nancy Tillman

ISBN: 978-1-250-01797-0


We have the board book version which we bought for the little little for Christmas.
I happened upon the author, Nancy Tillman, when we were looking for a suitable reading for the Big Littles Naming Day.
I am a big believer that a child can never feel too loved. Now, I don’t want you to get that confused with being them being spoilt or never being told off or me having a never-ending stream of patience but, my mission as a parent is to make sure our babies always feel loved and wanted and like they will forever be able to rely on their daddy and I for support, advice and guidance. Obviously once we’re retired this will mainly be via skype as we cruise and holiday our way around the world but the thought it there. If they turn out to be the next Nick Cotton I will be gutted. 
This book is the absolute embodiment of this idea.WHEREVER YOU ARE MY LOVE WILL FIND YOU
I’m not sure why but, I think you can tell that it’s not written by a British author. Perhaps it’s because I still associate Americans with a bit more gush, heart on the sleeve sort of emotion but I don’t think it’s a negative.
The pictures are lovely, the sentiment is gorgeous and I think that this is the ideal book for a child’s memory box (if you’re the sort of parent that has been together enough to do one of them…I’m very much hoping that this blog will do the trick. Soz girls, all your nursery art went in the special storage facility called ‘recycling’).

I know our girls are young but I hope that somewhere in their brains they are storing away the message of this book; Not to be frightened of doing your own thing, trying something different or failing because, whatever happens you’ll be loved.
I can’t think of many messages better than that for a child to hear, can you?

Physically, the book is the perfect size for little hands to hold and the board is thick enough to withstand plenty of gnawing from gummy babes. So I would absolutely recommend this book to buy and read and keep and treasure. It is a perfect 1st birthday or Christmas or Christening gift (we bought one to read and one to keep because I heard a story about a mum who packed her child off to uni with one hidden in his stuff…totally cried when I read that…I need help!)

WHEREVER YOU ARE MY LOVE WILL FIND YOU. NANCY TILLAMAN

 

Hmph, I’ve surpassed myself by carrying on an idea for more than two minutes! Saturday Book Review #2 Bossed! If I have tempted you to go out and buy them, please check here for your local shop, you know my views on Amazon don’t you?!

If you have any recommendations I would love to hear them and, if you are a blogger that thinks this could work as a linky, let me know and I’ll set something up.

Have a magic weekend everyone!

Loads of Love

Muma.

XxxX

PS- I don’t want to make a song and dance out of it but I made the shortlist for the Brilliance in Blogging Awards! If you want to make my day, you can vote for me by clicking the badge…I’m in the LAUGH category (13) Thank you!
VOTE FOR ME BiB 2014 LAUGH

If you fancy a few more book reviews, check out  the Read with Me linky from MammaMummyMum- check it out by clicking the badge.

MamaMummyMum

5 responses to “One for me, One for you; A Saturday Book Review #2

  1. Eeh Bah Mum says:

    ah yes the memory box. I found a bag of old mouldy art work in the garage which I was saving for that. whoopsy.
    loving your reviews and will be checking your progress reading a book a week. are you open for suggestions? *googles worlds longest book*
    xx

    • Mumaleary says:

      Ha! Bloody do it all mothers making us look bad! Yes I’m open to suggestions but bear in mind my intellect. Obviously have already covered off War and Peace and similar tomes but anything sort of Topsy and Tim length (unless it’s actually Topsy and Tim) is welcome!!

  2. I love this feature. I too have the first book to review, the quotes are very inspiring. I haven’t heard of the second book, the pictures look adorable though! thanks for linking up with #ReadWithMe I have tweeted and pinned this post. x

  3. Catherine says:

    I’m going to take the risk and ask my daughter to draw a picture of me :)
    #readwithme

Leave a Reply

Mummy Says...

Parenting, lifestyle and the bits in between

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

Confessions of a Try-hard

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

jakishoegirl...

The inane ramblings of a shoe mad, make-up crazy, music loving Mummy living in the UK...

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,307 other followers

