Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

A Potty Peer Pressure Poem!

on May 7, 2014

Sit on the potty

Try for a wee

Come on my darling,

Please try it for me.

Natalia is doing it,

And Amelia, and Beau.

Come on my baby,

Please give it a go.

It’s not on your radar.

It’s not yet your thing.

You’d rather by messing about on the swing.

I really can’t blame you,

It’s not any fun.

To sit on a cold seat,

And wipe your own bum!

Why would you bother.

You can poo as you play.

Sitting on a potty just gets in the way.

I’m a little half-hearted,

I’m too laise faire,

And honestly, I’m more bothered about your mad hair!

There’s some tell tale signs,

that we sometimes miss.

It’s not a big deal

Until I slip on your piss. **

I don’t want to push you.

There’s really no rush,

You’ll just dig your heels in if I start making a fuss.

So don’t worry darling,

Don’t follow the crowd,

When you finally do it I’ll be ever so proud***

 

**True story! OWWWW

***Seriously though- please try not to wee on the bedroom floor during facetime with Nanny and Grandad…it makes me look bad!

Love Muma.

XxxX

 

If you liked that- please think about voting for me in the #BiB’s LAUGH category, all you need to do is click the badge below and find me in category 13.
NOMINATE ME BiB 2014 LAUGH

 


20 responses to “A Potty Peer Pressure Poem!

  1. lifeatthelittlewood says:

    Oh my goodness, I love it!! Really made me giggle and so flipping true – I did the piss slip too, resulting in a massive gash and anti-inflammatories. It’s dangerous, this parenting lark!! Brilliant poem Muma! Xx #sharewithme

  2. Hilarious and accurate! Love it xx

  3. Absolutely love this. Brill x

  4. mummytries says:

    Fab poem! I fell for the peer pressure first time, and am being tons more relaxed second time round #sharewithme

  5. Sooo funny.I wish I’d read this when I was potty trainning. Might made me have seen the funny side, x

  6. Jenny says:

    I LOVE THIS!!!! So funny. it’s a great way to see the funnier side of a very frustrating time with toddlers. I hope it’s going a lot better for you than it ever did me the first time. Second time not so bad. Now we are in the opposite he won’t go, holds it all day. eeek how to untrain that one??? lol Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme Great poem.

  7. Love the poem – hope you didn’t do yourself any damage slipping!!! It’s almost like they know what we want them to do but it’s more fun to make us wait! Very early days for us so I’m quite calm about it all – for now at least!

  8. […] at Pinter and Martin. I expect they will be hammering down my door in person soon to publish my spectacular poetry- fame won’t change me dear reader, worry […]

  9. This is brilliant!! I can totally relate!! My youngest has only just toilet trained (he’s 3yrs & 5mo) and the peer pressure before he started was insane.

  10. Haha, great poem! And really brings back some memories…

Leave a Reply

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

Parenting, lifestyle and the bits in between

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

Confessions of a Try-hard

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,483 other followers

