Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Now That’s What I Call Parenting… #ArchivePosts

on May 4, 2014

Hey dudes, How you doing?

I am taking advantage whilst Mr L is on parenting duty to try and get a little more blog smart. It is nigh on impossible to keep up with new posts every day so, now I’ve been going for a year and have been nominated for a #BiB in the Laugh category; yep, that’s right, I am still banging on about that- thinking about having it on my gravestone infact;

Hear Lies Muma Leary.

Absolutely BRILLIANT wife, mother, daughter, friend, colleague, blogger and BiB 2014 shortlister

Anyway, I thought I would share some of my older posts in case you missed them first time around or, are new around here.

If you have found me recently, Hiya! If you are wondering what you’re getting yourself into, you might want to check this out. It’ll give you a tiny insight to who I am and why I started these warblings.

An integral part of my childhood and teen years was the NOW compilation albums.
I joined the party at NOW (that’s what I call music) 13
20131205-223211.jpg

which contained such hits as
A Groovy Kind of Love
He ain’t heavy (he’s my brother) and, the excellent
Don’t Worry, be Happy.

Well- what about this for an idea…

Now that’s what I call parenting.
Featuring…

REM -Everybody hurts
This relates to the labour itself and, in later months the unfamiliar pain of having your eye gauged out by a child grabbing onto your face playfully.

Cat Stevens- The first cut is the deepest
This clearly relates to the episiotomy. Oh no love- you won’t need one- you’ll just sneeze your baby out…I’m talking about other people.

Aladdin & Jasmin- A Whole New World.
No turning back now…it’s all change. Forever.

Sister Sledge- We are family
Because dudes, that’s what you are now!

Coldplay- Yellow
Jaundice is more common than you realise people. Don’t sweat it.

The Ramones-Baby I love you.
(Less at 4:45am when you are bawling your head off, but never the less- I love you, OK?)

Bon Jovi- Sleep when I’m dead
You are either awake because your baby won’t sleep or awake wondering why they are so quiet.

Radiohead- Creep
How you will now move around the house when your little cherub is resting. You may also take to angry shushing and fingers on lips signs.
Absolutely futile.
Utterly pointless, they will wake as soon as they hear your ass hit the seat.

Arcade Fire- Keep the car running
This relates to a couple of new parent issues…either having to take the baby out in the car to get them to sleep or, having the car running for approx 30minutes while you run in and out of the house getting the serious amount of kit you now need every time you go out!

Pato Banton- Baby come back
For bad parents- this refers to the time they roll off the bed and are sandwiched between a headboard and wall, for better parents it refers to your über advanced child crawling very early and wanting to explore; constantly.

Areosmith- Dude looks like a lady
For moments like this!

The Drifters- There goes my Baby
For when your little one starts crawling, starts nursery and, starts needing you less *sob/sigh*

Breathe Owl Breathe- Swimming (I’d never heard of it either- thank god for Google!)
For occasions like this…

The Black eyed peas- Shut up just shut up, shut up.
For situations like this…or this.

Frank Sinatra- That’s life
Because, unless you live in a fairy land- you will experience situations like this (it can’t just be us- can it?!)

Annie Lennox- Why (why, why, whyyyyyyy)
This refers to you utter feelings of helplessness when your child is crying and you have no freaking clue why!! Not. A. Scooby.

I have trawled the Internet for tracks called
Jesus Christ, give me the drugs
Crayon on the carpet and crackers on the wall
I am a shell of a person. Waaaaaa haaaaaa and
Let me pee alone
But alas could not find them…

What would you have on your playlist?

Muma.

XxxX

If you fancy voting for me (and I’d love it if you did…and your told your Nan and your mates and your hairdresser to do the same !) all you need to do is click the badge and put a tick in my box…I’m in the LAUGH category (13) Thank you!

VOTE FOR ME BiB 2014 LAUGH

I’m linking this post up with Brilliant Blog Posts- why don’t you hit the badge and see what else is on offer over at Vicki’s Blog, Honest Mum.
Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

2 responses to “Now That’s What I Call Parenting… #ArchivePosts

  1. This really made me LOL-brilliant! Thanks for linking up and good luck you, you deserve to be a finalist chick x

Leave a Reply

Bristol Betty

The semi-coherent thoughts of yet another Guardian-reading middle-class mother

Mummy Says...

Parenting, lifestyle and the bits in between

Molly Gunn

Journalist | Editor | Copywriter

Born in 2011

Emma Cantrell writes

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

Confessions of a Try-hard

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,473 other followers

