Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Amazon is Swallowing us.

on November 25, 2013

It seems impossible to write this post without coming across as some sort of Puritan, holier than thou, Ebenezer Scrooge type character but, as I sit here watching the BBC Panorama special on Amazon- The truth behind the click I feel like I need to give the whole flipping nation a shake and scream

WHAT’S IT ALL FOR???

Everything is getting out of hand.
People are confusing
‘more’ with ‘better’,
‘stuff’ with ‘achievement’ and
‘presents’ with ‘love’

It seems to go like this…
Because we need more stuff to prove who we are, who we love and how much we’ve achieved, we need to work more to afford it all.
Sooo, we need to shop remotely because we’re soooo busy.
Oh, and because we’re soooo busy we feel guilty that we ain’t giving the attention to the people we love and so we buy them a token to show that we are thinking of them. Continue ad nauseum.

STOP THIS MADNESS.
STOP IT NOW!!!

It is insane.
It is round the bend and it isn’t sustainable.

I know this isn’t easy.
I love lovely stuff! I wrote a blog on what I’d like for Christmas for goodness sake, but we need to draw the line somewhere (preferably right under my list!)

No, seriously, Someone has to make the first move and I know that it is hard to be the one to say something so, if you want, you can blame it on me. I have broad shoulders- no joke, I really do.

Ok- here goes…
I love my children and I love my family and friends.
I can’t prove this with stuff but I can try to show them all what thy mean to me with thoughts and deeds and actions.
I am majorly aware how blurgh this sounds btw. I am sounding do gooderish. Hideous.

Anywho, This year the girls are getting four small gifts based on the idea that there is:

Something they need
Something they want
Something they can read and
Something they can wear.
All of these are coming out of the money I made at the NCT nearly new sale.

My family are getting homemade gifts (if you are reading this family you’d better be practising your best WOW I LOVE IT smiles!)
and my friends are getting a warm cuddle and a glass of wine if they come over (no joke girls- that’s your lot. :-) PLEASE don’t embarrass me by getting us stuff).

I am sending a handful of Christmas cards (which gives me the old Royal Mail guilts) but I am spending the rest of my card budget supporting the Liverpool Pyjama Party and Rucksack Project because there are people that really, really do need stuff, as well as love and care this Christmas.

So, what do you reckon to stepping away from the Internet, scaling down the gift giving madness and, where ever possible supporting your local, independent shops.
You never know, we might even like things better this way.

BUY LESS
THINK MORE

Loads of love.

XxxxX

One response to “Amazon is Swallowing us.

  1. Pipa says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more on this Tan! I’m a working Mum and generally a stupidly busy one as you well know. However, having sold my house in order to move away from the buzz and take 6 months out (including Christmas) to start over again, I’ve had quite a few enlightenments to say the least! Last week was one of them, my sister text me to say “can you text me what you would all like for Christmas” ….I replied “we don’t need anything so have a mooch and if you see something that’ll make us smile, then go for it”. She loved it!

    I’m sick of the “Christmas list” so much so that I’ve told the children not to do one this year …I’m not “shopping” for what the children WANT …let’s face it, want NEVER ends! Of course we are doing gifts, and of course I’ve an idea of what’s top of their wish list if they had one …but we’re not doing it that way any more because we’re going to THINK about each other rather than following a frikkin list like it’s the weekly grocery shopping.

    So THIS is how we’re doing Christmas this year. No lists, no Amazon, no “I want”. We’re scaling back because what we need is already in our hands. Christmas for us this year will of course be gifts and fun and all that jazz, but it won’t be expensive, exhausting or ridiculously stressful. It’ll be thoughtful, fun and full of surprises and I hope it’s the same for you too xx

Leave a Reply

Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

Emma Cantrell writes about her family, parenting, childhood and the charity she founded

bigfatcypriotwedding

Lets make crisptory!

Confessions of a Try-hard

Ever tried hard to make something only for it to look nothing like it does on the tin? Welcome to my life!

The UnCheshire Wife

Random wafflings of a mum, living life in leafy Cheshire, but our leaves are a bit more trampled on.

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Stilettos, Stars & Rock n' Roll

The inane ramblings of a shoe mad, make-up crazy, music loving new Mummy...

BritMums

Leading The Conversation

helenfawkes

living with cancer

blunderbussme

Thinktastic musings on life, work and babies. With a bit of drinking and occasional falling over included – sometimes together but not always. The opinions depicted in this blog are sadly all my very own.

Moda Mi

Bespoke Dressmaking

We Should Go

the beautiful places right under our nose

The Overstand Podcast

"Overstand the definition, then write your own."

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

Angela Bradshaw

Alexander Technique Teacher

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

