Mumaleary's Blog

Cheaper than therapy

An ‘Award’ hey?!

on August 19, 2013

Watcha my lovelies.
Just a heads up, this is a long post. Don’t let that put you off, but, you might want to go and get a Gin in a Tin first, unless it is before 9:30am. Before then it is frowned upon. Unless you are reading this on a Saturday. Then it is fine.

I am writing this post from my bed at 7:30pm. I am absolutely spent and really want to go to sleep but, with Baba B’s naming day on Saturday I have a to do list as long as my arm but, before I do another thing (with the help of another Berocca!) I must write this blog or be thought of as rude and ungrateful forever more.
I am neither of these things so here goes.

If you are friends with MumaLeary on Facebook you may have seen that my new twitter friend and blogging bud, Jaki, has nominated my blog for The Liebster Award. Yey.
Thank you Jaki. :-)
Jaki’s blog is called Stilettos, Stars and Rock & Roll and, once you have read and digested this whole post (plus left a comment and signed up for future updates via email) you would be wise to go and check out what she has to say. :-)

The Liebster Award is for new, up and coming blogs but, I was keen to find out more about it.
After much poking about on google, it turns out, that it is basically like a bloody blogging equivalent of a chain letter.
Well, that has somewhat taken the shine off it but never the less. Someone thought my blog was good (unless of course they were just struggling to get up to 11 blogs to recommend too). My previously puffed out chest is contracting pretty rapidly now but still. Lets see the glass as half full shall we?!

In order to meet the criteria for the ahhem ‘award’ and get involved in the whole ethos of the idea bloggers need to;

1. Show your appreciation by linking back to the person who nominated you.
2. List 11 facts about yourself.
3. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the person who nominated you.
4. Nominate another 11 blogs, preferably with less than 200 followers, to pass the award on to.
5. Compile 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
6. Notify the bloggers you have nominated.

I’m not sure why there is so much emphasis on the number 11, I’ll be frank, I wish it was 7 but I’ll go along with it.

Sooooo, first things first…A bit about me.

1. I’m a 32 year old virgin Virgo.
My husband is 22 days older than me and, weirdly, our oldest daughters birthday falls exactly half way between the two. September is an expensive month for Chez Leary.

2. My sister and I lost our dad when we were 7 & 8 (obviously not literally lost, he died of a massive heart attack) I use humour to deal with this life changing event because, even after a 1/4 of a century I still miss him dreadfully. I wrote a blog about it actually, it’s here.

3. I have run the London Marathon 3 times and would love to do it again.
The last time was 2012 and I was pregnant with Baba B.
20130819-221806.jpg

I didn’t know that but I will forever claim I could have smashed my time of 5:33:36 had I not been cooking our little girl. :-)
NB- I totally would have done a sub 4hr if she hadn’t spoilt it for me. Rude.

4. I used to be a waitress and I absolutely loved it. I waited on Michael Owen who ordered two chicken courses and I asked if he was a breast or a leg man.
He didn’t laugh. Unbelievable.
I also waited on Jamie and Louise Redknapp. She is criminally beautiful (and also lovely).

5. I am a qualified teacher but left the role to work with Care Leavers as I was sick of seeing the difficulties that young people without adequate support faced both in terms of education and life in general and wanted to do something to help.

6. I have absolutely no time what so ever for trash mags like Closer, OK and other such publications which seem to either airbrush celebs to make us feel like crap OR show pictures of ‘celebs’ when they weren’t expecting to be snapped so they can feel dreadful too. Lovely.

7. I am dreadful at spelling but I really have an issue with people that can’t work out when to use to, too or two. There, Their or They’re. Sort it out dudes.

8. I have been to a Cliff Richard Concert.
Yup.
Wembley 1988.
I think I saw Sue Barker hiding in the wings!

9. I want to join a choir (with my bags of spare time) I love singing and would really like to sing in an organised Christmas concert type of thing. Does this make me a total loser?

10. I really want to have a beer with Chris Evans. I think he seems like a really top bloke and does loads of fun stuff to raise money for charity. I want a piece of that. (For the record, I don’t mean a piece of him).

11 – I think I am now the happiest I have ever been in my life.
I am knackered, I am looking older than my years and Mr L and I often pass like ships in the night but, when it all comes together there is simply nothing better.

11 questions for my chosen bloggers…

1. What’s your favourite shop either web based or actual bricks and mortar.
2. Where in the world would you most like to visit?
3. What is your favourite meal?
4. What would you do with 24hrs totally to yourself?
5. What was the first film you saw at the cinema and who did you go with?
6. Sweet or savoury?
7. Do you listen to the Radio or have TV in the mornings (or neither)?
8. What is your favourite TV programme, either past or current.
9. What is your favourite season and why?
10. X Factor- excited or over it?
11. If you could have a superpower what would it be?

My interview questions…

1 – What’s your favourite kind of blog to read?

I don’t do enough reading of other blogs to be honest and I defo need to do more of the whole social media thing.
I am always really moved by Life as a Widower but I also like to hear about what other mums are up to and humour is big for me.

2 – Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging when we moved back to the Wirral, where I was brought up. I naively imagined that I would be blogging about becoming the next Nigella (minus that nasty strangly thing obviously) and basically educating others into becoming a modern day Mary Poppins. Ha ha ha ha ha.
It quickly became clear that life with two under twos was not that simple and the blog has morphed into a way to get all of my rants and irritations off my chest at the end of a long day. My husband works away so it is instead of offloading everything to him really.
Also, I have an illness which means I genuinely think that I am right about most things, most of the time. Part of this debilitating condition means that I feel people need to know my opinions, whatever they are. I am currently seeking help.

3 – Where do you find inspiration to blog?

Blog inspiration mainly comes from the weird things the general public feel it is ok to say to a random person as long as they have a baby with them. Why is that?! The funny things my babies do and the utterly ludicrous things that pop into my brain which, it seems, is getting tinier and tinier all the time.

4 – What’s your guilty pleasure?
Neighbours.
Without doubt, Neighbours. I LOVE IT.

5 – First song or album you ever bought?</strong>

The first album I ever bought with my own money was Definitely Maybe by Oasis. I bought it in HMV Liverpool and still love it.

6 – Best childhood memory?

I had a very happy childhood and always felt loved. I really hope that my children will know throughout their lives how precious they are to me and their daddy.
My best childhood memory would probably be an amalgamation of the many, many years that my sister and I used to position all of our Christmas presents underneath the tree and then go back and do the same less than two hours later. We’d feel each present, guess what it was and who it was from and feel so excited.
I am smiling now just thinking about it.
I am hosting Christmas this year for the first time ever.
Really hope I don’t screw it up. ;-)

7 – What’s the one thing you can’t go a day without?

Um… I pride myself on being pretty low maintenance to be honest and, if I can’t have anything for a day I’d be ok because there’s always someone worse off isn’t there.
Any problems I’ve got can be very safely filed under #firstworld. #dontknowyou’reborn.
Having said that, I do love a good cup of Twinnings English Breakfast tea in the mornings and, if its been a tough night a Berocca Boost is always welcome.
Oh- I will never, ever go a day without having an opinion. On anything. Yep, that probably could have been my whole answer! Rather than the initial stuff which probably made you either Vom or stop reading.

8 – Who would play you in the movie of your life?

Kelly Macdonald. She is a very talented actor (we don’t say actress anymore do we?) and has carried off many different looks in her various roles. and she would need this as I have had many different cuts, colours and styles in my 32, nearly 33 years. Some better than others!
I reckon she could do the voice and she looks like a real person so that would be a help. :-)
20130819-222706.jpg

Oh- or Amy Adams, she was able to look quite rough in The Fighter so she could probably do it too.

9 – What song would feature as the credits roll in that movie?

Make Someone Happy by Jimmy Durante. I love it. It is from Sleepless in Seattle.
Obviously, I’d only be using this track if Adele hadn’t penned something herself for the movie a la Skyfall!

10 – Where would you like to see yourself in ten years time?

I am presuming we are giving honest answers here and so, if I am being really, really honest I would like to be earning lots of money as an authority on women’s issues and the needs of children and young people in care.
At the moment the whole system is totally, totally messed up and there is no cohesive support network for children in care or young people leaving care which allows them to develop and build a life for themselves as children do if they are supported by their own parents or extended family.
I feel guilty every single day that my family and I live as happily as we do and I have the amazing support network at my fingertips when so so many people are struggling to cope alone through no fault of there own.
If it’s not good enough for my children then it really shouldn’t be for anyone else’s either.
Something needs to be done. See more of my thoughts on this here.

11 – What is your biggest regret?

My biggest regret is related to my answer above. It is that there are children and young people in our country, probably in our neighbourhoods, that are not being cherished, loved and supported as they deserve to be.
I have witnessed this first hand and it is a cycle which desperately needs to be broken.
The care system in this country doesn’t work and children are suffering because of that.
I regret that I don’t know what to do to improve the situation. I need to work out where to start…my good friend Emma Mulqueeny is a big inspiration on this as she has (and is) transforming the world of technology and coding for young people. She is the brains behind Young Rewired State and has done this through years of hard work and determination so there is a model out there for me to follow. Thanks Em. :-)

The blogs I am nominating.
I’m not doing 11 because I’d be getting into the realms of lying that I have read them all often and right through.

To become Mum
Eeh Bah Mum
Boobs, Baking and Broccoli
Distressed housewife.

And there you have it.
If you are still reading I believe you also deserve to be nominated for an award.

Thanks guys.
Now I’ve got to get back to the list. Actually, who am I kidding, it can wait until the morning.

XxxX


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,484 other followers